AOpen AP53 and k6-2, just wondering

Don't ask how to over-clock.
Post Reply
rmay635703
Chip off the ol' block
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 6:25 pm

The board lists 2.5v with 1 jumper on 5-6. If I remove all jumpers might I get lower, as in around 2.0-2.4v? If I could get it a smidge lower I might be able to run a k6-2 processor. Also is there a newer bios than June 1997?

If there are any good sites with this board besides Aopen itself please share.

Thank You
Ryan
soupy
Absentee administrator
Posts: 1086
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:06 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Flash your BIOS at your own risk.
rmay635703
Chip off the ol' block
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 6:25 pm

I didn't think of that, some boards use the jumpers to drop voltage.

If the jumpers drop the voltage jumpering more than one may lower it further. What pins on the socket (without a cpu installed) do I need to attach a voltage meter to read the voltage?

Thanx
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

rmay635703
Chip off the ol' block
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 6:25 pm

Oh well, only 1.5v without any jumpers
Bas
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 22, 2002 11:20 am

Maybe I don't understand the problem, but 2.5V is what a k6-2 can also handle. 2.2 is what it really needs, but 2.5 works just fine, I ran my k6-2 on it too...
rmay635703
Chip off the ol' block
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 6:25 pm

2.5v can drive a k6-2 but this motherboard doesn't have an adequate power plane to handle the chip at 2.5v. I put a gigantic heatsync on the linear voltage reg and it still super heats with a k6-2 installed, if I left it on 15-20 minutes it would blow up
Bas
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 22, 2002 11:20 am

Ah i see... Damn
Post Reply