ASUS M2N32-SLI Premium Vista Phenom II Support

Don't ask how to over-clock.
Post Reply
gnif
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:19 am

Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:32 am

I just thought i would post my success story here. I have a "ASUS M2N32-SLI Premium Vista" board that supports AM3 chips with the latest bios update, however it does not recognize the newer Phenom II chips and it looks like ASUS wont be releasing any future bios updates for that board.

Now the machine was working fine with a modest over-clock from 3.1Ghz to 3.5Ghz, so really one would think that there is no point to updating the bios to support this chip. I thought, what the hell, I have a spare flash chip, ill have ago at it and see what happens.

I am proud to say that my board now recognizes my Phenom II X2 550 processor, here is my cpuz output to prove it :)
http : / / valid . canardpc . com / show_oc.php?id=595009

What I did was grab the latest bios from ASUS for my board, and the latest bios for the ASUS Crosshair II, which is a AM2 board with AM3 support. Using CBROM32 I extracted the AGESACPU.ROM (/GV3) from the Crosshair II board, checked it contained both AM2 and AM3 CPU strings, and after confirming this, used CBROM32 to insert it into the M2N32 bios.

After flashing the bios and rebooting, the chip is now detected... and as the CPU-Z output shows, I can now over-clock it to 3.75ghz, with a 250Mhz FSB on fan cooling alone. With water cooling I can now clock it to 4 ghz with a 260mhz FSB.

The updated bios is here:
http : / / www . spacevs . com / bios / M2N32-SLI-PREMIUM-1303-1.BIN
Ace
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 7:56 pm

Sat Mar 20, 2010 4:21 am

i tried what you did with an m2n-sli deluxe and it detected the cpu but only 128mb ram out of the 4gb was detected. Perhaps you would enjoy better luck. I used the 1801 bios and the GX3 from your modded bios. Thoughts?
gnif
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:19 am

Mon May 10, 2010 3:17 am

I have discovered by accident that the M2N32-SLI Deluxe 5002 bios works fine on this board, and it has been updated just recently to add Phenom II support. Give that one a go.

I also discovered that flashing without the proper asus tools loads in a default mac address on BOTH ethernet cards messing them up... you can just search for the mac address in the bin file using a hex editor and replace them with your machines mac addresses so that after flashing they are correct again.
destsh
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:12 am

Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:14 am

Hi gnif, thanks for the custom BIOS it worked like a charm on my board :)

Phenom II X4 940

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1353795
crash01
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:32 pm

Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:40 pm

Im in late, i know :(

But anyone, could be upload again hacked bios? :( thx
Post Reply