Black screen with new processor

Don't ask how to over-clock.
Post Reply
Scotta22
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:01 am

Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:16 am

I recently purchased a new processor from newegg.com, when I installed this processor in my computer, it would be running but my computer screen would not turn on so I could not enter into the bios setup. I tried downloading new bios from intel but that didn't seem to help anything. I am under the impression that these are compatible pieces but I could be wrong. I would appreciate any help or advice that anyone has.

motherboard: http://www.intel.com/products/motherboa ... /index.htm

Processor:
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.a ... 6819116175

thanks,
Scott
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Wed Nov 22, 2006 8:35 am

http://developer.intel.com/design/mothe ... l_proc.htm
The following board revisions (AA numbers) support these processors:

C27650-209 or later
C27646-210 or later
C26719-211 or later
C27648-208 or later
C40926-202 or later.
Board Revision note: A small bar-coded label, similar to the diagram shown below, can be found on the component side of the desktop board. The numbers following the letters “AA“ can help identify the type and version of your desktop board. The AA contains a 6 digit main number, and a 3 digit dash number (the 3 numbers following the “-“.

The statement “...or later“ refers to the dash number of the AA (the three numbers following the “-“). If this number is greater than the number listed in the table, the board supports the associated processor(s).
And I fear you have an older revision not supporting the 3.0E
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Scotta22
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:01 am

Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:38 am

I checked the board number you were talking about and by that chart the processor should work. My number is C27646-213. Thanks for pointing that out, it looks like I got lucky because when I was looking to purchase a processor I didn't see that chart on the side of that website.

I also forgot to mention that my previous processor did not have hyper threading technology. I’m not sure if you have to do something else to the computer to make that work.

Is there anything else that I should do? I read somewhere that you have to reload the operating system so it can recognize the new processor, but I didn't know how to do that if I get nothing on the screen when I put the new processor in. Any help is appreciated.

thanks,
Scott
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Tue Nov 28, 2006 2:24 pm

If your screen boots blank, then it isn't an OS problem... Try flashing to the latest BIOS with your previous processor.
Post Reply