Compaq Professional workstation 5000 cpu upgrade?

Don't ask how to over-clock.
Post Reply
Uncle Adolf
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 6:01 am

Compaq Professional workstation 5000 cpu upgrade?

Post by Uncle Adolf » Sun Apr 11, 2004 6:16 am

Does anyone know if the bios of the Compaq professional workstation 5000 would support the Pentium II overdrive cpu? I've picked up a professional workstation for 30 bucks, and two Pentium II overdrive cpu's for 40, and I want to run the workstation 5000 with the dual Pentium II overdrive cpu's.

edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6206
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by edwin » Sun Apr 11, 2004 8:40 am

they are MP compatible. start with one, if it runs add the other one. you did get a VRM for the second CPU I hope?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...

Uncle Adolf
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 6:01 am

Post by Uncle Adolf » Sun Apr 11, 2004 11:51 pm

Ok, so they're MP compatible, but do you know if it is compatible with the Pentium II overdrive, specifically? I haven't picked up the second VRM yet, I plan on running it with one P2 overdrive, if it works in the workstation 5000, then picking up a VRM and adding the second P2 overdrive.

edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6206
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by edwin » Mon Apr 12, 2004 1:27 pm

edwin wrote:they are MP compatible. start with one, if it runs add the other one. you did get a VRM for the second CPU I hope?
they as in the Pentium II Overdrive is MP compatible. Yes the DeskPro 5000 dual Socket 8 is MP compatible I hope. I cannot find specific info if the DeskPro 5000 PPro series run OK with the P2 Overdrive anywhere, no problems running them either, so you may have a chance.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...

Post Reply