NEEDED!! Acer V3.2 6M2EN5M 06/30/99 bios update

Don't ask how to over-clock.
Post Reply
strvng2
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 5:29 am

Just installed a slot one upgrade from PowerLeap.
Getting errors on post. unrecognized cpu etc.
Need Bios and stepping update for acer.
bios version: V3.2 6M2EN5M 06/30/99

I went to acer and while the flash utilities are provided I cannot locate
the updated file to flash.

Any Answers?

USER INFORMATION
=================
Name --------------------------- strvng2
E-mail Address ----------------- strvng2@wi.rr.com
Daytime phone ------------------ ***-***-****
Country ------------------------ USA

CPU INFORMATION
================
Number of CPU ------------------ 1
Manufacturer ------------------- GenuineIntel
Processor (brand ID) ----------- Intel Celeron (1)
Code Name ---------------------- Tualatin
Package ------------------------ Socket 370 FC-PGA2
Family ------------------------- 6
Model -------------------------- B
Stepping ----------------------- 4
Core Revision ------------------ tB1
Extended Family/Model ---------- 0/0
Technology --------------------- 0.13µ
Microcode Revision ------------- 0
Specification ------------------ Intel(R) Celeron(TM) CPU 1400MHz
Instructions ------------------- MMX, SSE
CPU Speed ---------------------- 1397.6MHz
Clock Multiplier --------------- 14.0x
Front Side Bus ----------------- 99.8MHz
Bus Speed ---------------------- 99.8MHz
L1 Data cache ------------------ 16Kb
L1 Code cache ------------------ 16Kb
L2 cache ----------------------- 256Kb

MAINBOARD INFORMATION
======================
Manufacturer ------------------- IBM
Model (revision) --------------- 66M2 (-1 )
Chipset (revision)-------------- Intel i440BX/ZX (C1)
Southbridge -------------------- Intel 82371 (PIIX4)
BIOS Brand --------------------- ACER
BIOS Version ------------------- V3.2 6M2EN5M
BIOS Date ---------------------- 06/30/99
AGP Revision ------------------- 1.0
AGP Transfer Rate -------------- 2x
AGP Aperture Size -------------- 64Mb
AGP Side Band Addressing ------- enabled
Display adapter Manufacturer --- 3dfx
Model (revision) --------------- Voodoo3 (1)

MEMORY INFORMATION
===================
Type --------------------------- SDRAM
Size --------------------------- 256Mb
# of memory modules ------------ 2
Module 0 ----------------------- SDRAM PC100 - 128 Mb
Module 1 ----------------------- Kingston SDRAM PC100 - 128 Mb
Frequency ---------------------- 99.8MHz
CAS# Latency ------------------- 3.0 clocks
RAS# to CAS# Delay ------------- 2 clocks
RAS# Precharge Time ------------ 2 clocks
DRAM Idle Timer ---------------- 32 clocks

SYSTEM INFORMATION
===================
Operating System --------------- Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 1 (Build 2600)
System Brand ------------------- Other IBM
System Model ------------------- 2171
Comments ----------------------- New purchase installed, still get errors on boot.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

This board:
http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/acer/mb/v66m-2.htm

maybe you have better luck searching on that number. As for the error, it is possible the CPU simply isn't supported. You can also try at IBM searching for the 2171-xxx number on the back of your case.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
strvng2
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 5:29 am

In fact the cpu seems to work fine, the errors come on post only, I've been to Ibm/Aptiva 2171-545 support and they do not, NOT offer any help.
Acer has the flash program however no specific update for th OEM SH** that I have :x
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Acer china has some bioses:
Translated page but no mentioning of tualatin celeron support anywhere. I fear you'll have to live with the error message at startup.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
strvng2
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 5:29 am

Well it figures,
IBM no help,
Acer no help,
If it was not for the fact there are others that use this machine I would live with it however, All I need is for THE WIFE to hit into the bios and panic leaving me with an apology and HOW WAS I TO KNOW?

Power leap is working on it but the files they send from IBM do not do a thing...same old same old BUYER BEWARE!
Post Reply