PII to PIII

Don't ask how to over-clock.
Post Reply
Mr_nez
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:58 pm

Hello

I have recently upgraded my PII to a PIII, it is a i440BX motherboard, the old chip was a PII 350, the new one is a PIII 500, I put in the new chip and on boot up it is displayed as a PII 500,

The BIOS string is

07/23/1998-i440BX-ITE867-2A69KV3FC-00

I can't find an update for this anywhere !!

Windows XP reports the processor as being a PII 500, is the processor running with PIII capabilities or not ???

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks in Advance

Richard
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

PIII support wasn't included until ca. 1/1999, so that's why it's recognized as the former PII, and yes, the BIOS isn't optimizing the PIII's performance.
You have a PCPARTNER board. http://www.pcpartner.com.hk
Mr_nez
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:58 pm

Hi

Thanks for the quick reply, I will try having another look on the web site, I haven't managed to find any update that matches my board when I have looked already, I will try and have another look
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

First look for the 35-xxxx-xx number on the board.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Just one match:

BXA828D with DMI function 2Mbits ATX 35-8828-XX
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Just a sidenote.... All the PCPARTNER motherboard manuals I've seen include the 35-xxxx-xx code in the index pages.
Post Reply