update Intel dx79si with out cpu.

Don't ask how to over-clock.
Post Reply
dw5304
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:31 pm

Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:49 pm

ok to make a long story short i have a new Intel dx79si that it works with the new lga2011 cheap 3840 i7 cpu ~$300 vs a $600 cpu...
we are Intel gold partners and Intel told us there is nothing they can do. They told us to buy the expensive proc and update the bios so you can use the cheaper one.

I was able to dump the bios on the board the chip is a MX25L6405D 64M-BIT [x 1 / x 2] CMOS SERIAL FLASH

I then tried to update the bios on the chip using latest Intel bios for the board, but it would not boot. I do have backups :).

has anyone ever been able to upgrade a efi bios w/o a cpu?

or anyone have more information where to go from here.
thanks in advance
dw5304.
2012-03-19_16-27-17_751.jpg
Last edited by dw5304 on Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Wed Mar 21, 2012 1:05 pm

physically remove the chip and use another device to program it is normally the only answer. If you are actually Intel Gold partner you should be able to RMA your board and ask your sales channel partner for a board with an updated bios.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
dw5304
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:31 pm

Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:07 pm

Intel told us we are out of luck having it updated , They don't have any boards w/ new bios and will not update it for us.
and the bios is a spi non removable version :(.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Thu Mar 22, 2012 1:11 pm

I fear the situation is slightly worse, the i7-3840 is not yet supported at all on this board, even with the latest bios rev:
http://processormatch.intel.com/CompDB/ ... ame=DX79SI

The i7-3820 is fully supported when using the 0430 release of the bios. The big question is if this board already has bios 0424 on it because that is the last release that actually "updated processor support", the 0430 is merely a bugfix to fully support the non-XE edition of CPUs. Have you got any clue about what bios version is loaded right now?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
dw5304
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:31 pm

Thu Mar 22, 2012 4:39 pm

my bad. i meant the 3820 not 3840... as to the bios version...
.0281.2011.1019.1612

is what is listed in the bios dump :). so its an old copy.

i will attach bios dump if needed ... only issue its 8 mb.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Fri Mar 23, 2012 10:29 am

no need, the 0281 is listed with the updates. And the bad news is: you really need a i7-39xx series CPU for the bios update. There's not much to find about this issue in the internet at this moment, but that is the actual problem.

Where are you located? Because you're going to need the goodwill of a local computer shop for giving you a i7-39xx series on loan...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
dw5304
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:31 pm

Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:46 pm

well, we are the only computer shop for about 20 miles lol...
but on a plus side i managed to get our intel rep to take the board back and flash it after telling them we would be moving to amd if they wouldnt do it :).
woot +1 for false promises.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Tue Mar 27, 2012 3:27 pm

woot +2 for knowing you did buy that board for performance, you'll stick with Intel any day now :twisted:
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
gingin
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 9:41 pm

Tue Jun 26, 2012 9:46 pm

Hi!
I have same problem with dx79si and I7 3820.
If you have upadet BIOS, can you send me binary dump please?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Wed Jun 27, 2012 4:47 pm

Take the board back to the dealer that sold you the combination of these items. They should work together, it's their responsibility to make it match.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
viewgsm
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:20 am

Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:22 am

would you please update the new flash dump,
I need to update my MB and don't have access to supported CPU

regards
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:37 pm

Right now there is NO other way to get this board flashed with the proper bios if you do NOT have the i7-39xx CPU. Contact the person selling you this board + CPU for providing you with a solution.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
viewgsm
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:20 am

Fri Oct 26, 2012 7:57 pm

the guy who started this topic did already dump the chip content, I am overseas and I don't have access to that CPU,
I see no reason why can't I upload the bios directly to the chip using SPI serial programmer if someone can send me BIN file of the bios !

Regards
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:02 pm

Contact Intel with your issue, maybe they can have your board exchanged/flashed at a local distribution point.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply