Asus P5rd2-VM problem

BIOS Questions that don't belong in the other forums. Read them!
Post Reply
lutaco
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 7:25 pm
Location: Holguin.Cuba

Tue Jul 12, 2011 4:39 pm

My asus P5rd2-vm keeps showing ´case open -sistem halt ´

Then I press f1 and the PC boots ok, but i'd like to solve it:

What i have to say:

-The jumper to disable this fuction is in its place.
-This option is disabled in the setup I disable it my self.

I think it's a hardware problem, then I wonder, is there any way to avoy bios to chec this fuction?, does anybody know about a patch or the like ?

Any idea

Thnaks in advance
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6225
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:34 pm

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_ ... 5/P5RD2VM/

Please flash the latest bios and hope they can catch this bug. It happens when you set your CPU to manual instead of auto. It has been reported elsewhere too with different Asus boards.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
lutaco
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 7:25 pm
Location: Holguin.Cuba

Wed Jul 13, 2011 3:13 pm

Well I did flash the bios, but the problem reamined, that why I Think it's a hardware problem.

Thanks
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6225
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Wed Jul 13, 2011 7:06 pm

Can be a hardware problem. Is the board still in warranty?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
lutaco
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 7:25 pm
Location: Holguin.Cuba

Fri Jul 15, 2011 7:42 pm

Believe or not thanks to you I solved the problem, you asked me about the waranty, then I thouht ; this is a very old motherboard no waranty at all, and decided to tray ,then disconectecd a transistor which is tied to the jumper that diasbles the chassis open function...and everything's ok.

Thanks a lot
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6225
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:30 am

:D :D :D

Which transistor is that? Can you make a picture of that and put it online somewhere? Other people may have the same problem and this seems a very simple solution.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply