Comm Port

BIOS Questions that don't belong in the other forums. Read them!
Post Reply
JimmieC
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 12:05 pm

Is there a way in BIOS to change the Comm Port for my modem? It is physically located in PCI slot #3. The computer shows #2. The machine is a Dell Pent. 111 using Windows ME with a Dell 4100 tower. Thanks, Jim.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6231
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

The comm port for a PCI modem is set in the modem driver and usually it uses one that is not yet used by any other serial device in your system. If it says #2 in the description this means it was detected another time and as such you need to tell your dialup connection to use the newly detected modem.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
JimmieC
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 12:05 pm

edwin;

Thank you for responding. "You need to tell your dialup connection to use the newly detected modem." Can this be done via the BIOS? If so, how? If not, would you know how it can be done?

Thanks, Jim.
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

What is the reason you need or want to move the COMM port?

Just to clarify -

Modem in PCI Slot #3.
COMM Port designation of the modem is COMM 2.
Post Reply