Enable BIOS caching/shadowing?

BIOS Questions that don't belong in the other forums. Read them!
Post Reply
Great
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 3:40 pm

When using an NT-based version of Windows (i.e Windows NT/2000/XP), is it a good idea to enable 'System BIOS Cacheable' or similar setting that copies the BIOS into RAM? Please tell me all you know about this.

Thanks.
LinusF
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2002 5:31 pm

Some video cards/drivers have specific do & don'ts regarding shadowing.
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Great wrote:When using an NT-based version of Windows (i.e Windows NT/2000/XP), is it a good idea to enable 'System BIOS Cacheable' or similar setting that copies the BIOS into RAM? Please tell me all you know about this.

Thanks.
System BIOS on a modern machine (not on my IBM 286) is copied (or decompressed) into RAM anyway, so the question for System BIOS is only whether or not to make it cacheable. I would say "suck it and see".

Whether other BIOSes such as your video BIOS should be cacheable/ copied to RAM depends. For example, the old Future Domain SCSI controllers used memory-mapped I/O in the BIOS address range and copying that to RAM or caching it meant it stopped working altogether. In general I cache and shadow my video RAM , make my system BIOS cacheable and that's it.
Tested patched BIOSes. Untested patched BIOSes.
Emails *will* be ignored unless the subject line starts "Wim's BIOS forum"
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

There was a discussion of this over at the PCChips site a while back.

Peter Missel says that all *modern* BIOS's are written to be cacheable, so no matter what you set in the BIOS, they will be anyway.

Perform a search there to find the discussion in question.
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Written to be cached, or written to be shadowed, or both? I'm starting to have some doubts right now...
LinusF
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2002 5:31 pm

I am running XP PRO on a BIOSTAR MoBo with a VIA chipset including an AWARD BIOS and an AMD CPU. The BIOS/CMOS setup for the AWARD has about a page of options on enabling various types of RAM and Shadowing memory schemes plus a variety of specific memory ranges which are useable for BIOS, and other, uses.
One would suspect your chip producer would also have fairly specific guidance. The options in modern BIOSes are astounding compared with those of only even 3 years ago.
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

LinusF wrote:The options in modern BIOSes are astounding compared with those of only even 3 years ago.
And yet I can't find "non-cacheable area size/start address" as I have on my 486-VIP-IO mobo's BIOS, which actually allows me to use the Future Domain TMC-845/TMC-850.
Tested patched BIOSes. Untested patched BIOSes.
Emails *will* be ignored unless the subject line starts "Wim's BIOS forum"
LinusF
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2002 5:31 pm

And I recently booted to DOS 6.22 to flash my BIOS. What a pleasure it was to rip through on a command line once again. But I digress... LinusF
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Perhaps one of the moderators can get Peter to write a short essay on all this to put into the *sticky* area, and end the confusion once and for all??

When he has the time of course... :roll:
Post Reply