100GB: 06/13/2000-693A-596B-W97-2A6CGTLKC-00

BIOS update, EIDE card, or overlay software? (FAQ Hard disk recognition)
Post Reply
rozis
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2002 6:53 pm

My Board: Transcend AVD1
BIOS: Award 4.51pg latest Transcend Ver. 1.05 06/13/00

Doesn´t support IBM 100GB (102,9GB) Harddisk Modell: IC35L100AVVA07-0

Is a patch available or possible?
If you can answer in german language ;-)

Thanks
RoZis
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

That BIOS supports HDDs up to 128GB.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

What's the problem ?
Not detected at all or as only 32GB ? > Tried to remove 32GB limitation ?

Was ist das Problem ?
Überhaupt nicht erkannt oder nur als 32GB Platte ? > Die 32GB Limitierung entfernen - siehe Aufdruck auf der Platte oder von der IBM website !
rozis
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2002 6:53 pm

Denniss wrote:What's the problem ?
Not detected at all or as only 32GB ? > Tried to remove 32GB limitation ?

Was ist das Problem ?
Überhaupt nicht erkannt oder nur als 32GB Platte ? > Die 32GB Limitierung entfernen - siehe Aufdruck auf der Platte oder von der IBM website !
Not detected at all, the IDE HD Detection shows 102MB,
manualy CHS also failed.

Überhaupt nicht erkannt, die Autoerkennung versagt und zeigt viel zu kleine Werte an. 32GB wird nicht angezeigt!
Ebenso konnte ich ueber CHS die Platte auch nicht zu Werten >8GB bewegen.
Wo bzw. wie soll das mit der 32 GB Limitierung zu beheben sein?
RoZis
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Test in another machine known to support this harddisk. The disk itself may be flawed.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

BIOS may show wrong size - boot from floppy and run FDISK from Windows ME (the original FDISK in Windows 98 is buggy) to see if it reports full HDD capacity.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
rozis
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2002 6:53 pm

Test on an other machine with Transcend AVD3 Bord shows the same failed result!
A test with ATA-100 Controller on my machine shows the disk with the correct size at 102GB, so the disk works perfect.

Rozis
Post Reply