120GB: ms 6151

BIOS update, EIDE card, or overlay software? (FAQ Hard disk recognition)
Post Reply
chrizzel
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 2:46 pm

hi there,

my bios just won't recognize my new 120 gb hdd. i've already visited the manufactor's page but it tells that there is no update available for this product:

bios type:Award Modular BIOS v4.51PG
bios date: 10/12/98
bios ID: 10/12/1998-i440BX-W977-2A69KM4FC-00
OEM sign on:VMP 1.0B4a * MSI MS-6151
super I/O:Winbond 977EF rev 1 found at port 3F0h
chipset:Intel 440BX/ZX rev 2
OS:Microsoft Windows ME Version: 4.90.3000

cpu type:pentium II
cpu speed: 350 mhz

bios rom in socket
size 256k

i've found an update here:http://www.http://wims.rainbow-software.org/
that might match
the id matches except the date
can i dare to try?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6275
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Including VMP etc?

If so, go ahead. If not, backup with

awdflash /Pn /Sy backup.bin

and send backup.bin file to rainbow or me stating what board it is from and what harddisk you want support for. We may be able to patch it.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

The patched Bios should work - it's a newer version of your Bios
regn
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 9:58 am

edwin wrote:Including VMP etc?

If so, go ahead. If not, backup with

awdflash /Pn /Sy backup.bin

and send backup.bin file to rainbow or me stating what board it is from and what harddisk you want support for. We may be able to patch it.

I did so and the upgrade runs well.
When i rebooted, i saw "Pentuim II CPU 467 MHz /133 MHz"

Indeed the CPU is 350 MHz and system Bus has 100 MHz on an 6151.
I treated this as a display error and countinued.
After sone minutes the system crashed/ hangs.

even when i boot a Knoppix-CD the system will hang at different times.

Could it really be that the board runs now with 133 MHz system clock?
my memory is just PC-100, but memtest gave me no errors.

And: I backed up my bios, but with an unstable system i could not risk to go back!

Any hints welcome
Robert, Germany
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Clear CMOS and load Setup Defaults in bios. Make sure the FSB is set to 100 MHz, either per Jumper or per Bios menu.

Are you sure you picked a Bios matching your motherboard?
Post Reply