120GB: Tekram P6Bx-An

BIOS update, EIDE card, or overlay software? (FAQ Hard disk recognition)
Post Reply
ionaa
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 3:44 pm

120GB: Tekram P6Bx-An

Post by ionaa » Wed Aug 20, 2003 4:09 pm

Hi!
I wanted to install a 120GB Deskstar (IBM/Hitachi), but Tekram stopped manufacturing Mainboards in 2001. The "latest" BIOS I got is from 2000. I flashed it and of course it only recognizes 32GB.
Details:

Award Modular BIOS v4.51PG
TRM-P6BX-A BIOS V1.08
07/07/2000-I440BX-W83977-2A69KTGBC-00

Even with the IBM Diskmanager I only get 32GB, so that doesn't work either! :(
What else can I do???

ionaa

ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Post by ajzchips » Wed Aug 20, 2003 4:44 pm

I've patched the BIOS for you. You'll find it at http://wims.rainbow-software.org/ajz/

Please report success/failure. Thanks.

ionaa
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 3:44 pm

Post by ionaa » Thu Aug 21, 2003 2:13 pm

hi! Thanks so much for the bios!
one more question/problem: as soon as I change to DOS the filename is no longer bxap108+.bin ... it looks like bxap10''1.bin.
Unfortunately I've been unable to type that sign '' in DOS so up to now I wasn't able to try it, although I desperately would want to (a beta-version by tekram ebxp108.bin I found at http://www.tekram.de/sections.php?op=vi ... e&artid=72 didn't change anything)!!!

So if I can do something, and decided I should but discovered I'm unable to - what comes next???

ionaa

ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Post by ajzchips » Thu Aug 21, 2003 2:32 pm

Simply rename the .bin file to anything you want, like bios.bin for instance.

ionaa
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 3:44 pm

Post by ionaa » Thu Aug 21, 2003 5:27 pm

sure... what was I thinking. sorry for that!!!

ok, i flashed your BIOS and it works fine!!!
my only problem is, that my 120 GB HDD (which I use as Slave) still isn't recognized. You know I installed the IBM Diskmanager and it didn't work. Before I flashed the BIOS I used s0kill.exe to get rid of the diskmanager. But I have rests of Diskmanager on my Master HDD.

So now I have the old Diskmanager reducing my HDD to 32GB in DOS. I removed the diskmanager from the slave, so I cannot exit it via the space-key while booting and WIN2000 shows the HDD as working Hardware, but it doesn't appear in the windows explorer.

:?: :?: :?:

so I am as far as I was before: what can I do

ionaa

ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Post by ajzchips » Thu Aug 21, 2003 9:19 pm

The diskmanager SHOULD have a utility to CLEAR ALL of itself. Keep trying.
Have you checked whether you've got the 32GB-limiting jumper set on the HDD?

ionaa
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 3:44 pm

Post by ionaa » Sat Aug 23, 2003 10:07 pm

:D allright allright allriiiiight!!! That BIOS sure does work!!!
As soon as I removed the diskmanager from my master drive I had all the 123GB!!! :!: :D

Thanks so much for helping me out and for your patience!!! I wish I could help you with some computer problem, but that will probably never happen... since I'm a theology student (but if you ever have questions concerning god you know where to find my email... :wink: ).

best wishes!
ionaa

ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Post by ajzchips » Sat Aug 23, 2003 11:53 pm

...a theology student would have written god as "God"... ;-)

ionaa
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 3:44 pm

Post by ionaa » Sun Aug 24, 2003 3:44 pm

oops!
you're right. but since english isn't my first language I am excused...

BenGman
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: 120GB: Tekram P6Bx-An

Post by BenGman » Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:44 pm

I am looking for this BIOS update now (yes.. in the year 2010)..

Do any of you still have it available?

Thanks!

edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6206
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 120GB: Tekram P6Bx-An

Post by edwin » Thu Aug 12, 2010 6:51 pm

edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...

Post Reply