??GB: 10/12/1998-i440BX-W977-2A69KM4FC

BIOS update, EIDE card, or overlay software? (FAQ Hard disk recognition)
Post Reply
gizzmo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 5:24 pm

hi
can't find any bios update for this v4.51pg sucker.

some more info:
BIOS Date: 10/12/98
BIOS Type: Award Modular BIOS v4.51PG
BIOS ID: 10/12/1998-i440BX-W977-2A69KM4FC
OEM Sign-On: VMP 1.0B4a * MSI MS-6151
Chipset: Intel 440BX/ZX rev 3

if you happen to have an update that works for this one, i'd be very glad ;)

thanks
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

There's a newer BIOS for this Maxdata OEM'ed version of the MSI MS-6151,
07/01/1999-i440BX-W977-2A69KM4FC-00
VMP 1.0B12d * MSI MS-6151

There's a patched version of it at the "Tested" link in my signature. Try that.
Tested patched BIOSes. Untested patched BIOSes.
Emails *will* be ignored unless the subject line starts "Wim's BIOS forum"
gizzmo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 5:24 pm

i saw that, but due to the signiture i thought it was another board version.
i'm gonna try it now...

thanks a lot
gizzmo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 5:24 pm

alright, i tried it, and it worked...kinda.

the flashing went w/o errors.

first reboot: nothing, beep, restart, nothing
second: same...same...same
5th reboot: new HD had been taken out, all drives out: well, something different, still no pic.
6th: old drive in: looked weird, wrong colors, 133mhz instead of 100 for bus freq....hung up at startup, at least a picture...
7th: for some reason it works
8th: all drives in, and it still works, and the new hd has been recognized..!

so yeah, it does work.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Cleared CMOS after the flash? And have a look at the age/condition of the power supply...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
gizzmo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 5:24 pm

no didn't.
why should i? everything works...is it necessary? read about it somewhere, but forgot what the use of clearing the cmos was.

as to the power supply: i think the general supply is not a problem, everything works stable, and since the old HD goes out of the sys, that should not be a problem.
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

If the BIOS has been updated, they may have changed where they store various parameters in the CMOS, or how they use the parameters. When you flash the new BIOS they could (for example) put the wrong drive strength into the AGP driver, or the wrong value into the clock generator giving you 133 MHz instead of 100 MHz.. If you clear the CMOS, the BIOS will see a "CMOS checksum error" and will set the default values into the CMOS.
Post Reply