40GB: 51-0427-001437-00111110-071595-1541/2_3

BIOS update, EIDE card, or overlay software? (FAQ Hard disk recognition)
Post Reply
Dioxaz
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 4:44 pm

I recently bought a Western Digital WD400 40 GB hard drive but it isn't recognized by my bios. Like I said, my AMI bios string is :
51-0427-001437-00111110-071595-1541/2_3

According to that, I can say that I have a PCChips mainboard with an ALi 1541/2_3 chipset (Aladdin V). But I didn't find on the web any PCChips main board that match mine. Also, When I bought it 2 years ago, I remember that the seller told me that it was a Matsonic but he didn't tell me the model. , Please, can anyone help me to find the exact model of my main board and tell me if there is (or not) BIOS updates ? thanks ;).
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Use the Pcchips Lottery to identify your Board !
http://www.stud.fernuni-hagen.de/q3998142/pcchips/
Dioxaz
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 4:44 pm

Thanks but I've already done that ;). But, I didn't find any mainboard that matched mine... it seem that Pc Chips didn't make Super 7 main boards with ALi 1541/2_3 chipset on them...

Edit : could be a Matsonic MS6260S or a PcChips M579. I remember when booting my machine that I've seen the 'MS6260s' string just under The BIOS date (in my case 04/27/99 S). So, that makes me think... OK, must be SURELY a Matsonic MS6260S or... I don't know ! And I know why I didn't find anything about my main board on PC Chips Lottery, they don't have (yet) the M579 model in their list... or I didn't search correctly...
Dioxaz
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 4:44 pm

Yes, that was this one finally and I dowloaded the 62601026.rom update... by my HD is still not recognized. Maybe, i have to search for patches...
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

I would expect an AMI BIOS of that date to support a big HDD. Have you checked the drive jumpers for 32 GB clip ?
Tested patched BIOSes. Untested patched BIOSes.
Emails *will* be ignored unless the subject line starts "Wim's BIOS forum"
Dioxaz
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 4:44 pm

Oops !... where are these jumpers ? On my mainboard ? If so, how can I identify them ?
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Jumpers on the HDD!
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Dioxaz
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 4:44 pm

Oh, thanks... (newbie, you see...) Well, I've checked them but I don't know how to configure them...
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

There should be instructions either on a label on the drive or on the manufacturer's website. Do you know the manufacturer and the model number ?
Tested patched BIOSes. Untested patched BIOSes.
Emails *will* be ignored unless the subject line starts "Wim's BIOS forum"
Dioxaz
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 4:44 pm

Oh ! Thankfully, after my last post on this thread i effectively went to Western Digital's website and all the info I needed was there !! And i finally kwen how to configure my jumpers... and my HDD works now !
But, a little problem is still there : Win98se only recognizes my HD as an 8 Gb, although the bios reports me the correct size (aka 32 Gb because i use alternate jumper settings). But I didn't download the Data Lifguard Tools EZ-Install utility yet. Does that utility solve that minor problem ?
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Would that be because you only partitioned 8GB ? You may have to FDISK.
Tested patched BIOSes. Untested patched BIOSes.
Emails *will* be ignored unless the subject line starts "Wim's BIOS forum"
Dioxaz
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 4:44 pm

That's what I did :lol. FDisk only allowed me to partition at 8 GB instead of 32 GB... Anyway, I'll see if dowloding that Life-guard utility will fix something ;).
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

You want to enable LBA in the bios and you want to get the updated version of win98se fdisk available for download at the microsoft website. Your current one isn't capable of making partitions larger than 32GB
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply