80GB: 09AB5NV (MR.BIOS)

BIOS update, EIDE card, or overlay software? (FAQ Hard disk recognition)
Post Reply
Azer
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 12:26 pm

It does find it in the bios, but when i try to boot, it says waiting for disk 80, after 2 minutes it says continuing booting or something like that.
When I get into DOS with the bootdisk, the disk isn't there.

Bios:
BIOS ID: 09AB5NV
SIGNON: 09AB5NV
DATE: 6/8/99
TYPE: MRBIOS V.3.46
Super I/O: NSC 306 REV. 11 foun at port 2Eh
Chipset: Intel Triniton 430VX rev 2 (intel 82430VX)

MB:
Don't know
On the sticker it says 67087103000 PB682CMZ
And over the sticker, printed on the bord it says E139761

Disk:
WD 80GB with 8Mb cache
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Does it work OK with a smaller, older drive (<32GB, <8.4GB, <550MB) ?
Just confirm it's not this.
Azer
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 12:26 pm

It looks similar, i can't confirm that right now since I'm at school. I'll check it over later. But mine got a sticker over the cpu multiplier which makes it go to X3 (or was it 3.5?) if I don't remember faultly.
So it might be another revision.
With a sticker on the bios it says 1.00.11 like the one on the page.
But whats the video in connector on the picture (SVideo?--video card?), can't remember it there on my card.
My card got the S3trio64v+ like on the page.
Can't confirm the brand f the desktop since I ripped the motherboard long time ago.

I have tried it with a 3.2 GB disk and it works.
I haven't got any more disks between 80GB and 3.2GB
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Most likely the PB682, in that case only an add-in controller card will work...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Shouldn't MRBIOS support HDDs up to 128GB - at least according to their ads?
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Azer
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 12:26 pm

I have now checked, it's definetively another revision, but it is the board.
Mine does not have the Svideo or the midi/audio i/o, though it got the solderpads for it.
On the page it says it uses an ami bios.
Maybe the ones who released it got an mrbios upgrade?

The 1.00.12 version is never than mine, wouldn't it help to upgrade?
No patches?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Not sure when MR.BIOS started thinking of large harddrive support. In theory this one should support up to 128GB. One can always ask them...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Azer
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 12:26 pm

On this page it says I can use the DN0R bioses from mr.bios, which I have.
h**p://www.geocities.com/SiliconValley/Lakes/8 ... /bios.html

But are there a newer MR.BIOS DN0R upgrades then the one from 1999?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Azer
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 12:26 pm

I fixed it.
It didn't realy have anything to do with the bios. It supported the 80G allright.
It was Packard bell and their standards.
The white colored ide connector on the mb was the secondary, NOT the primary as usual.
And the disk was also formated in ntfs which my friend forgot to tell me.
No wonder it didn't work in 98. And when linux didn't support ntfs either I had to run my 2000 disk. With 24megs of ram and a 133MHz cpu that went realy fast!
And I encountered another problem when trying to install a network card on the board.
It needed an expansion port for the isa slots. So I dug up an old exp card from a dell comp.
These cards use the EISA technology which makes it possible to get more connection pins on a smaller space.
So i shoved the card in the port and booted.
But it wouldn't boot, nothing on the screen.
So i took out the exp card, checked the port, removed a copper cable cut-off and tried again.
Nothing.
Then i shoved the card just partly down the slot. So it stood there wiggeling.
Then it booted.
But i killed one of my network cards doing this.
The light on the card just stopps lighting in the middle of booting 2000, weird.

So now it works.

But just one last question.
The 29ee* ic's, are they reprogrammable from the mb or do I need an eprom burner.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

should support flashing from the board. Use uniflash to find out what is underneath the sticker.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply