80GB: 04/17/1998-i440LX-W977TF-2A69JTJBC-00

BIOS update, EIDE card, or overlay software? (FAQ Hard disk recognition)
Post Reply
morientes
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:41 pm

Hi everyone. I've recently bought a 80 GB Seagate Barracuda (Model:ST380011A) and it's not detected by my bios (freeze at start-up).
My bios specifications are:
Program: Unicore BIOS Wizard Version 2.01
Program: eSupport.com Chip Detect v0.80 2003.02.20
BIOS Date: 04/17/98
BIOS Type: Award Modular BIOS v4.51PG
BIOS ID: 04/17/1998-i440LX-W977TF-2A69JTJBC-00
BIOS Eval: TM-P2LX Ver:1.3
Chipset: Intel 440EX/LX rev 3
Superio: Winbond 977TF rev 0 found at port 3F0h

I would be very pleased if anybody can help me.
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Latest BIOS is V1.31 from:
http://web.archive.org/web/200108020422 ... wnload.htm

Which one would you want patched? Your very same release or this newer one?
morientes
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:41 pm

I'm so sorry for waiting for a long time before giving an answer to your question but i was taking 3 midterms in two days and couldn't give time for my bios problem.
Now; i tried to download the older and newer versions at that site but when the download comes to %99 it freezes and i found another link http://tw.giga-byte.com/english-web/sup ... lx_old.htm
i would be pleased if you patch any of these for me.
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Do you have a reason why you think the Gigabyte BIOSes might work ?
I downloaded the P2LXV131.EXE to look at patching it, but the SFX says that there is a PKSFX error - "use PKZipFix"
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Got one from long ago. Patched bios sent.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Some binary files downloaded from archive.org are missing the last byte. If it'z ZIP file, simply add one byte to the end of file and it will work. I've made a simple program which adds a zero byte to the end of file and uploaded it at Wim's FTP. Usage is simple: "archfix badfile.zip".
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

uploaded it at Wim's FTP
where would that be?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
morientes
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:41 pm

Hi again,
First of all i want to thank Edwin for his post and mail but when i tried to flash the one he sent, i got "the boot block mismatch!!" message and i didn't find enough courage to hit yes to "proceed anyway?"
Instead of these i,too, couldn't find the ftp address but i will keep trying.
Best regards..
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

use uniflash. Have you made a backup.bin yet? If so, use the email button below my post to send it by email, I can patch that one instead.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Patched backup sent. Please report back.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
morientes
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:41 pm

Hi to all.
I flashed my bios with the patched bios that Edwin sent.Here is the result:

In the BIOS the hdd is identified,but in Win98 it is not seen. Then i decided to do fdisk.There i saw the hdd is identified as 10GB instead of 80.
I heard this kind of problem before and i'm seeking a solution at this phase on the forum..
best regards
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

you need an updated version of fdisk and format, the original ones have bugs in them.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
morientes
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:41 pm

Hi to all,

I downloaded the latest version of fdisk and it recognises the drive 74.4 GB not 80.I don't know the reason but i stop worrying about. Then i start using the hdd, at the time i write something it forms files with names such as h,ê,à.. with huge sizes as 1.2 TB!!(in words not in physical area)
Whatever it is,i may fix this problem and it is no more the problem of this forum so i want to thank everyone (especially Edwin) who helped me.
Best regards.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

80000000000 bytes (like the harddisk manufacturers tell you) is something else as 80*1024*1024*1024 (80 real Gigabytes).

Go to the site of the harddisk manufacturer and disable UDMA5 mode (set it to DMA33) because that is what your bios is telling the chipset to run at, it can't cope.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply