copying and replacing hard drive difficulties

BIOS update, EIDE card, or overlay software? (FAQ Hard disk recognition)
mr.bones
New visitors - please read the rules.

Hello people! I am new to the forum and need help. I have little knowledge of computers other than what I learn on the fly. What I am attempting to do is copy my old 30GB maxtor ATA HD onto a new Seagate Barracuda SATA 300GB HD. I bought an adapter PCI card to hook up the new HD. It formatted, saved data and retrieved data. Now I have used HDClone to copy my old HD to the new HD. The data all seems to be there and is accessable and I have been able to assign the new HD a letter (E:).

What I want to do is use the new HD as the primary drive and boot from it, but I can't figure it out. The BIOS does not recognize that there is a second HD. Below are the details of what my computer is. Any help would be greatly apprciated.

Thanks, Scott
Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 (build 2600) Intel Corporation
Processor a Main Circuit Board b
2.40 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4
8 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache
Board: Intel Corporation D845GERG2 AAA97835-107
Bus Clock: 133 megahertz
BIOS: Intel Corp. RG84510A.86A.0028.P15.0302260937 02/26/2003
Drives
350.80 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
290.92 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

SONY DVD RW DRU-800A [CD-ROM drive]
3.5" format removeable media [Floppy drive]

Maxtor 6E030L0 [Hard drive] (30.75 GB) -- drive 0, s/n E17XYADE, rev NAR61590, SMART Status: Healthy
ST332062 0AS SCSI Disk Device (320.07 GB) -- drive 1 2046

Local Drive Volumes

c: (NTFS on drive 0) 30.74 GB 774 MB free
e: (NTFS on drive 1) 320.06 GB 290.15 GB free

Network Drives
None detected
edwin
The Hardware Archivist

Maxtor 6E030L0 [Hard drive] (30.75 GB) -- drive 0, s/n E17XYADE, rev NAR61590, SMART Status: Healthy
ST332062 0AS SCSI Disk Device (320.07 GB) -- drive 1 2046