Seagate baracuda 160 GB not detecting

BIOS update, EIDE card, or overlay software? (FAQ Hard disk recognition)
cryon
New visitors - please read the rules.

Hello All,
I have AT type motherboard with AT/ATX supply support.
- Slot 1 / Socket 370 features.
- 3 SDRAM slots / 1 AGP slot / 3 PCI slot / 1 ISA slot.
- ITE I/O, VIA chipset / CMI8738 onboard audio card.
- Motherboard with Mercury KOB 693 DCS.
- PCB V1.5

xx/xx/xxxx-693-596-ITE86-P6BAT-00 for the kob693 dcs ...hence I am sure its DCS and not DCSa..Read the post on the topic "Need Help".

The problem is " it is not detecting my new Seagate baracuda 160 GB HDD,and it is showing it as 8 GB".I think ,I need to upgade the bios ,can anyone pls tell me from where I can dowload the upgarde that would support the new Hard disk,and also please tell me the procedure to carry out the same as this is my first time in any thing like this..your help would mean a lot to me.
Thanking you in advance.
Cryon.
:(
cp
BIOS Guru

Do you want to boot from that drive? Which OS are you running?

BIOS:
http://web.archive.org/web/200101070050 ... 693dcs.zip

Flasher:
http://www.uniflash.org
cryon

My old IBM DTTAV351680 16.8 GB harddisk has stopped functioning suddenly today morning and hence I purchased a new Seagate baracuda 160 GB HDD,but did not expect this problem.
As for as the booting is concerned,I guess I have to create a win boot disk using a floppy and as of now,I have no OS installed on the HDD.By the way should I use the uniflash utility or awd824g(found it on "http://www.soyousa.com/kb/kbdesc.php?id=35") or awd822a utility(http://www.ecsusa.com/downloads/bios/awd822a.exe),as the links for the latter two are given in "Collected Wisdom" section of this forum.
Please advice.

Thanks for the prompt and speedy reply.

Thanking U and warm regards,
Cryon.