BootBlock hanging at detecting floppy

Hot-swapping and Boot-Block flash & Boot block flash and floppy support
Post Reply
digital11
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 2:53 am

Ok, I'm getting the infamous BIOS ROM checksum error. However, I'm not fortunate enough to get the "Insert system disk" message. As soon as I power the system on the floppy light goes on and the system will sit indefinitely at "Detecting floppy drive A media..." The floppy light will stay lit until I turn it off.

I have tried 3 different floppy drives, 4 different floppy cables, various configurations of each just to make sure I have a working floppy config. However, nothing I've tried gets it past the detecting floppy message.

The mobo is an Asus A7N8X 2.0 PCB.

Someone please assist.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

one end connector to the mobo, end connector at twisted section to the floppy, red striping matches pin ONE on both connectors, that should do it. If not, there a chance the floppy disk itself is faulty, try another disk and make sure it contains everything for an emaergency flash per instructions from Asus.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Sometimes, there's a bug in the bootblock, preventing it from working properly :?
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
DanceMan
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2002 12:19 am
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Will it detect a hard drive with a boot sector? (after changing the boot order to "C" first in the bios)
so many parts, so little time.....
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

No, it can only boot from floppy. AFAIK, on some new Asus boards, the bootblock can boot from the Asus CD.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Gnou
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 7:16 pm

I ve got exactly the same prob .. The only way ll be to buy another bios .. i think ... :evil:
Post Reply