Abit TH7 II and P4 1.6A bios not compatible

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
Post Reply
Freeflyfreak
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2002 6:38 am

Sun Mar 24, 2002 6:39 am

Just got my Abit TH7II with a P4 1.6A
Unfortunately I have a problem.
After assembling the system with only mobo, cpu, heatsink/fan, 2x128MB RAM and video card, I attempted to post but got Post message 29 on the mobo digital read out. I tried reseating stuff but no go.
After doing some research I came up with this from the Abit FAQ page.


Q) I bought a TH7II-RAID motherboard with Pentium4 1.6A (512KB L2 cache) CPU lately, however, the system post to show"29" while booting up computer. Can you explain to me this problem?

A) This is because the previous version of BIOS can't correctly support newer Pentium4 (512KB L2 cache) CPU, and caused your system hang during booting up computer. Please update BIOS to the latest version from our web server.


My question is this how can I flash the bios if I cant get the damn thing to post?
I already emailed Abit but it is the weekend and I dont expect to hear from them till next week (if at all). I asked them to send me a bios chip with the updated bios on it as this seems the only solution, in the meantime any ideas.
I dont know anyone in Miami who has the same set up to hot flash the chip, and I dont have a Williamette chip to use to boot with this board to flash the bios. Sooooo.
Anyone have any other ideas?
:roll:
a_user
Good ol' Boy
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2002 4:09 pm
Location: Elgin, Texas

Sun Mar 24, 2002 6:44 am

Send you a bios chip.... :lol: not likely.

Borrow a cpu or but a cheapy for a spare. I have a 400 celery for my spare.
Freeflyfreak
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2002 6:38 am

Sun Mar 24, 2002 6:56 am

dude, I dont think there are any "cheap" 478 pin p4's :wink:

Any yes I think they should send me a compatible bios chip.

This is what it says on their web site:

Supports Intel Pentium®4 Socket478 processor
(400MHz System Data Bus)

So I bought their board and a P4 478 processor, with the Northwood core and it doesnt work with the bios they supply there is an updated bios but I cannot flash cos it will not post.
So yes I think they should definately send me another bios chip, (for free) I would be happy to return the non compatible bios chip which came with my board.
If they advertise their board as compatible with P4 478 chips and it is not then that is deceptive advertising.
If they do not sent me a compatible bios chip then they can have their board back.

But what I am really looking for is any other option available which I have not mentioned

By the way the FAQ I posted was just added this month.
a_user
Good ol' Boy
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2002 4:09 pm
Location: Elgin, Texas

Sun Mar 24, 2002 4:24 pm

Well... what you say is true. But, I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for they to send you one. I have been in the computer business for 35 years and I don't see it happening.

Reall don't know what to tell you. You could try hot swap in another system, burn it via a eprom burner, borrow a P4, pay some shop to do it etc.
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Sun Mar 24, 2002 4:56 pm

If you bought the board and CPU in a shop and they told you that it will work, return it back...
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
a_user
Good ol' Boy
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2002 4:09 pm
Location: Elgin, Texas

Mon Mar 25, 2002 4:24 pm

The etc should have had Rainbows recommendation.
Freeflyfreak
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2002 6:38 am

Thu Mar 28, 2002 2:46 am

Bought it online and dont fancy paying return shipping when I can get an uptodate bios from Abit for free. I called them on Monday and it is in the mail as I speak. No charge.
Sooo, Ill believe it when I have it in my hand.
Or rather in my mobo.
:D
a_user
Good ol' Boy
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2002 4:09 pm
Location: Elgin, Texas

Thu Mar 28, 2002 6:37 am

If you get a bios chip from Abit then I am impressed. I have a ABIT BH6 board and it is a solid as a rock. Propbably should upgrade to raid and all the latest but this one does the job.
Freeflyfreak
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2002 6:38 am

Fri Mar 29, 2002 2:46 pm

Got my chip last night, hooray!
The machine will now post, and whats more I now have a spare chip which I can hot flash to the new bios so I have a spare!!
:lol:

To anyone else who has this problem,........call Abit and get them to send you an uptodate bios chip.
It is hard to get hold of a real live person there but it is not impossible and well worth it.
Post Reply