AMI Bios update successful, now won't boot !!!

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
Post Reply
speerjam2000
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 4:24 pm

:o I just flashed the AMI Bios on a K7S5A. It goes through the post, I can get into the BIOS setup, and it shows that it is the new version, and it detects the drives and everything, bla, bla. Locks up after the SCSI card detection. ???Any Ideas???
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Clear CMOS as you should always do after a bios flash.
speerjam2000
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 4:24 pm

Is that necessary? I already went into the BIOS, changed all the settings.
I should clear the CMOS? OK, I will try.

Thanks
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Some Adaptec cards with older bioses (1.xx) will wreak havoc in newer systems. If you have one of those, see that you put it in a system that does boot with it and upgrade the scsi bios on that card.
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

It's worth noting that ECS K7S5A users in April seemed to think that the latest BIOS was pretty buggy and recommended using one from Jan/February, IIRC. Check out the newsgroup - is it comp.periphs.mainboard.elite ? Shep will tell you pretty quickly. Sorry, I was watching it for a month and unsubscribed last week.
Tested patched BIOSes. Untested patched BIOSes.
Emails *will* be ignored unless the subject line starts "Wim's BIOS forum"
speerjam2000
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 4:24 pm

Success!! It was the SCSI card. Wheww!!! Thanks for the tips. I think this card does indeed have the older BIOS. I will try to flash it in another PC.

Peace...... :D
Post Reply