ASUS P2-99 BIOS / VPP / 40gig disk problem

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
Post Reply
APK
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2002 5:30 pm

I'm using a flash program from the ASUS site (I've tried a few versions).
No joy though. The bios eiter shows as "Unknown" and the program will not work, or there is the message to change the VPP voltage jumper.

I've not idea what or where the VP voltage jumper is on this board. Doesn't show in the manual.

Right now my new 40 gig is not recognized, so I need to get over the 32 gig limit.

Its an Award bios.
PIII 450 cpu.

I know (from searching) that this question has come up on this site before (can't find the post though). Anyone remember an answer on how to upgrade the bios ? Or do I swap it for a 30gig drive :-(

Thanks.
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Use Aflash for Biosupdate . > Try older Aflashprograms if Chip is not recognized . > Which type of Chip is installed ?
Check Bios for a Bios-Protect function .
soupy
Absentee administrator
Posts: 1086
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:06 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Is there an Enable BIOS Update setting in the CMOS setup?
Which flash program are you using, and which version of it?
Are you booting to a clean DOS prompt?

You can get the latest BIOS and flasher here:
ftp://ftp.asuscom.de/pub/ASUSCOM/
Flash your BIOS at your own risk.
APK
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2002 5:30 pm

Thanks for the replies.

Yes, I did have the "bios update" enabled in the CMOS.
And I've tried every version of the flash program that I
could find on the ASUS site -- flash / aflash / pflash.
And a couple of versions of a couple of them.

I will go back, though, and check for older versions of aflash.

And yep, DOS floppy to the A: prompt.
Run flash program from there.

The chip is Award modular bios v.4.51PG

Do you guys know about the VPP voltage one of the flash
programs came up with. Seems to be something to do with
the voltage the Intel chipset needs to allow the upgrade.
Something to do with 5v and 12v -- couldn't find any more
info on this on the web.

APK
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

What is your current bios string?
APK
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2002 5:30 pm

I'm don't know what you mean by "bios string" ?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

The string in the bottom left corner shown at startup. Something like 03/03/00-i440ZX-P2-99

Please reply with the complete string.
APK
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2002 5:30 pm

That bios string is : 08/09/99 - i440ZX-P2-99
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Have you tried flash2?
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
APK
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2002 5:30 pm

I tried all the relevant flash programs I could find on the asus site.
Not sure that I recall "flash2". Where is that one ?
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Sorry, I meant pflash2 - try all utils from ftp://ftp.asuscom.de/pub/ASUSCOM/BIOS/B ... D_FLASHER/
If everything fails, you can try UniFlash http://rainbow.ht.st/programs.html#UniFlash
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
APK
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2002 5:30 pm

many thanks Rainbow,
I'll certainly give it a try.
Post Reply