Bios upgrade... VIA 82C691 rev 68

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
C0CaiN
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 31, 2002 12:45 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Hey.. I need help upgrading my BIOS

I recentally got a GeForce 3 Ti 200 and it won't work untill I do this...

I need the bios stuff to upgrade.. can anyone tell me where to get it..

this is the info about my mother board

PnP Version : BIOS currently supports latest version 1.0
PCI Version : BIOS currently supports latest version 2.1
PCI IRQ Routing Table : BIOS currently supports this feature
Enhanced Disk Drive
Specification : BIOS currently supports this feature
DMI Version : BIOS supports minimum version 2.2. Latest is
version 2.3
ACPI Version : BIOS currently supports latest version 1.0
APM Version : APM BIOS not installed. It has been replaced by
ACPI
Booting From CD-ROM : BIOS currently supports this feature
Supports ESCD : BIOS currently supports this feature
Can be Updated (flashed) : BIOS currently supports this feature
Can be Shadowed : BIOS currently supports this feature
BIOS Chip in Socket : BIOS currently supports this feature
Supports Selective Booting : BIOS currently supports this feature
Supports LS-120 Booting : BIOS doesn't support this feature
Supports ZIP Booting : BIOS doesn't support this feature
Supports Network Booting : The testing of this feature is not supported by
the current DMI version
BIOS Manufacturer : Award Modular BIOS v4.51PG
BIOS ID : 12/18/2000-693-596-8671-2A6LGC3AC-00
BIOS Date : 12/18/00
BIOS OEM Signon : 12/18/2000
BIOS ROM Size : 256K
Chipset : VIA 82C691 rev 68
Super I/O Chip : ITE 8671 found at port 279h
Helps
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

The BIOS "stuff" can be found at http://www.chaintech.com.tw
C0CaiN
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 31, 2002 12:45 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

I looked there but i couldn't find it.. you know exactly where it is?
Helps
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Take a close look at your motherboard. Chaintech boards are usually well-identified.
C0CaiN
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 31, 2002 12:45 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

how do you know its chaintech?

i found 6VTA2 but its from 1999... if i used this would my geforce 3 ti 200 work fully?
Helps
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Dunno, here's the update:
http://www.chaintech.com.tw/Downloads/6xMB/6VTA2.htm

Is this your board? To make sure:
Image
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

how do you know its chaintech?
BIOS ID : 12/18/2000-693-596-8671-2A6LGC3AC-00

C3 (after 2A6LG) is Chaintech's Award vendor code.
C0CaiN
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 31, 2002 12:45 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Ya thats my mother board... same everything.. i just wanna know if what im going to download at that site is acutally newer then the one i have right now and will work with my geforce 3 ti 200
Helps
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

I have a feeling your BIOS release is over a year newer. I wouldn't flash (yet) if I were you.
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Latest Bios for the 6VTA2 is 7/99 so with a Bios from 12/2000 this must be a different Board .
Have a look at the small white sticker on your Flashrom - usually the model number should be printed onto it .

What's the Problem with your Geforce ?
Deleted old drivers from previous VGA card ?
Installed latest VIA 4in1 ?
Used a recent version of NVidia drivers ?
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

What's weird is that the latest BIOS from Chaintech's site is:
07/07/1999-693-596-8671-2A6LGC3AC-00

Seems like the very same board to me.
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Maybe they're using the Bios-ID on another Mainboard .

It's important to know what's written onto the Flashrom-sticker or maybe there's a model number silkscreened onto the Board .
C0CaiN
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 31, 2002 12:45 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

On my mother board it says its 6VTA2.. the problem with my geforce is that i it is the exact same graphics and everything as my other one.. i don't notice any change at all.. i used to have an Nvidia TNT2 Model 64.. its a lot older...

so its the same everything in every way... It didn't work at first so i just totally formated my computer.... but still its not working... i tried doing all kinds of things.. still same graphics... i put it into safe mode... then removed the TNT drivers... shut down... took out TNT.. put in GF3 then started up and installed.... same graphics....
Helps
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

There's "06/02/2000-693-596-8671-2A6LGC3AC-00" BIOS on www.nix.ru - newer than the Chaintech one but still older than yours... Please save your BIOS to a file and send it to my e-mail. Maybe someone will find it useful.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
C0CaiN
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 31, 2002 12:45 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

i have no idea how to do that......

I went to that wizard bios thing and i did that test..hence my knowledge about my mother board......

But i gave all the info to them over there site and they said to call them at an 800 number so i did and they said there was a new bios for my mother board.. it supported like everything or something.... its award bios 2002 for 4 or something they said.... i need to get this cause i can't find mine anywhere else so i can send you all the files for that.....
Helps
Post Reply