Chaintech BIOS upgrade (Where to find BIOS software?)

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
Post Reply
stormy1777
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 7:48 pm

I tried www.chaintech.com.tw but no listing to my BIOS. Here is my info:

Program: Unicore BIOS Wizard Version 1.8
Program: Unicore Chip Detect v0.72 2000.03.10
BIOS Date: 01/09/96
BIOS Type: Award Modular BIOS v4.50PG
BIOS ID: 01/09/96-SiS-5511-5513-2A5IDC3AC-00
BIOS Eval: 01/17/1996
Chipset: SiS 5511 rev 0
Superio: Winbond 787IF (use 89h) rev 0 found at port 250h

"c3" is chaintech, and that number should be model# 586SEM (Not sure about that, got this from Wim's website) Can't locate anyplace I can actually download a file with the flash/bios combination for my motherboard.

Contacted chaintech but no answer. any ideas?

I'm having troubles with this PC and I'm pretty sure it's the old BIOS.
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

It's Chaintech 5SEM board and it's the latest BIOS :(
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
stormy1777
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 7:48 pm

Thanks!! After I did it once it's now going to be much quicker for the next BIOS...

Does it make any sense in flushing it anyways, even if it's the latest?

I have problems recognizing the CD-ROM, I switch it to slave/master primary/secondary and even replaced the drive itself yet no recognition, this worked until a few months ago..
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

replaced cable? replaced power supply? both candidates for trouble like this. when and where is it not recognized?
stormy1777
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 7:48 pm

Sorry for the long post on this BIOS form...

FIXED the problem!!! after discovered BIOS is OK found that win95 has some problems with IDE when changing motherboards.. I booted with this drive on a different computer and it disabled IDE support somehow..

Found the fix using google:

http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&s ... 7af&rnum=8

Cut/Paste the solution in case this link gets changed:

------------------
For others, this advice worked for me:

This sounds like a classic case of Windows 95 not fully recognizing the
motherboard swap, and failing to detect the new IDE controller. Because the
32-bit drivers it used for the old board won't work for the new one, it is
forced to use MS-DOS compatibility mode. Here's how to fix it:

Make a backup copy of SYSTEM.DAT and USER.DAT files found in your WINDOWS
directory. These are your registry files. We'll be using the registry editor
(REGEDIT), so you want backups in case we really screw something up.

Run REGEDIT (Start, Run, type REGEDIT, OK) and navigate down to the key:

Hkey_Local_Machine/System/CurrentControlSet/Services/VxD/IOS

and look for a key that has "NoIDE" in it. Delete that entire entry. Close
REGEDIT. In the System control panel, remove the primary and secondary IDE
controllers from the device manager and reboot your machine. Windows should
now recognize your IDE controller and use the 32-bit drivers.
-------------------

I'm a happy camper now!
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

So, within windows and you encountered one of the classic bugs in windows 95. Somehow I just KNOW that other board has an Intel chipset. Am I right?
stormy1777
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 7:48 pm

YES! The other PC has an Intel Pentium 3 CPU w/chipset from Intel. We accidently booted the win95 from that PC almost two years ago, and since then never used that disk in the original PC... now it's back and running.

Also discovered that it's OK for the CDrom not to be displayed in the BIOS setup screen and startup..

Thanks for the help... You guys are champions..
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Glad you got it all in order and thank you for confirming my suspicion. :)
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Just FYI, there's a beta BIOS almost a year more recent:

12/04/96-SiS-5511-5513-2A5IDC3AC-00

I don't know if you'll notice any substantial improvement, though.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Still no support for larger harddisks...
Post Reply