How to upgrade BIOS?

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
Post Reply
Rockrz
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2003 7:43 pm

Here's some specs on my PC's processor, and board...
Image
I already have 1gig of DDR Ram, which should be plenty in that department.

Is there anything I can do to upgrade my bus clock speed? Would I have to upgrade the BIOS to increase bus speed? My PC is suppossed to have 200 FSB, so why is it running at 100?

Shouldn't my FSB be running at 200?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6275
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

100MHz double-pumped is 200MHz FSB.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Rockrz
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2003 7:43 pm

I don't understand.

Is my system supposed to be "double pumping"?
If so, how would I know if it is or not?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6275
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

No, it is supposed to be quad-pumping in fact. AMD uses double-pumping. That 2.0GHz CPU has an FSB of 400MHz, if you see 100MHz things are fine.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Intel and FSB :
100MHz = FSB400
133MHz = FSB533
200MHz = FSB800

AMD and FSB :
100MHz = FSB200
133MHz = FSB266
166MHz = FSB333
200MHz = FSB400
Post Reply