Need a Bios update to updrage to XP ?!

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
Post Reply
synapse
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 6:11 am

I have an emachines etower 633is. I looked at the bios chip and it says its a Cognac+, produced by trigem.

When I try and install windows (on a clean NFTS formatted harddrive, it loads all the scsi'raid drivers, says press enter to install windows xp (or F3 to repair or whatever), then I get a blue screen with a grey bar along the bottom...the cd-rom spins but nothing comes up on screen. Then the cd-rom stops spinning.

So I tried looking for an updated bios but have had no luck. Any ideas?
Thanks!!
soupy
Absentee administrator
Posts: 1086
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:06 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

The price you pay for a budget system, unfortunately. This seems to be all they have to say about XP:

http://www.emachines.com/support/view_f ... 38&topic=2
Flash your BIOS at your own risk.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6275
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Something's wrong with the CD or the player, XP Pro can be done:
http://www.e4all.info/motherboards/cogn ... _users.htm
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply