need to change bios for new celeron 733

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
Post Reply
novice123
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 3:03 am

I've got a dell XPS D333 with intel mb aAL440LX. Just purchased Powerleap pl-ip3/t 733 MHZ celeron upgrade kit.
Advised I could do this by installing Bios P14.
I have downloaded bios form intel site but having trouble applying and flashing. Error( Invalid reserved string in flsh image header.
Can someone help me do a hex editor or anything to get this done right
thanks
joe
Dell XPS D 333 win 98 SE 384 Megs ram PII
followed the link below
http://home.earthlink.net/~billselk/al4 ... lxfaq.html
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

use recovery flash method: remove normal/clear jumper before powering up with flash floppy in place. wait for one, then two beeps, power off, put jumper back and you should be in bussiness.

use at own risk ofcourse.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
novice123
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 3:03 am

Thanks for the reply.
I have tried the recovery method. After removing jumper, i get the normal one beep, then green light goes on for floppy drive.
I've waited as long as twenty minutes , but no more beeps. I don't think the files are being copied correctly. :o
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

used the mkbootz stuff and all? It's needs to be a bootable diskette. follow the instructions to the letter in order to create it.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
novice123
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 3:03 am

I finally got it flashed
thanks for your help :
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

you're welcome. could you tell us what went wrong the first time around? It might help us explain things better to other newbies trying this same routine.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
novice123
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 3:03 am

Ok,
I carefully followed each step from Intel's directions.
After opening up and reading that (Command.exe and Dos.sys should be on bootable disc) I double checked it. For some reason Dos.sys wasn't .
I dragged that file into a drive. Removed jumper and booted with disc(Recovery method). Computer finally gave me two succesion beeps and I was on my way.
I HAVE TO GIVE CREDIT TO EDWIN@WIMSBIOS FOR HELPING ME OUT ALONG THE WAY.
Post Reply