newest version of the BIOS upgrade for Lucky Star 6abx2v?

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
emi.millo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:25 am

Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:08 pm

What's the newest version of the BIOS upgrade for Lucky Star 6abx2v 440bx? and above all, where can i find it?
Thanks a lot
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:34 pm

http://wims.rainbow-software.org/edwin/ ... 0128KB.zip

version #9ka6-03 patched for 128GB hdd bios support

http://www.supportbios.info/modelo.asp? ... &Idioma=EN

latest seems to be #9K96-06
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
emi.millo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:25 am

Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:55 pm

Thank you very much....and sorry for double-posted it.

What kind of software do i need to flash my award BIOS?

Thanks
emi.millo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:25 am

Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:00 pm

Besides....what about this upgrade http://www.rom.by/bios/LS/?
The one you gave me is newer than this one?

Why this one has 2 kind of upgrade? one is 1Mbit and the other one is 2Mbit....
What does it mean? In case, which one do i have to choose?
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Wed Jan 23, 2008 4:08 pm

The one you gave me is newer than this one?
obviously not. but the one i gave you is patched by one of the fine members of this board to have 128GB native bios support :)

make a backup copy of your current bios with uniflash. if the filesize of the bios is 128kB you have a 1MBit bios and if it is 256kB the bios is 2Mbit
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
emi.millo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:25 am

Wed Jan 23, 2008 4:48 pm

what's the right procedure to update my BIOS then?
emi.millo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:25 am

Wed Jan 23, 2008 5:02 pm

I change my question cos i cannot upgrade my BIOS. I'm too afraid of doing it!!

I'd like to get a new video board to be able to support 1680x1050 resolution (i bought a new LCD monitor), because mine (ATI 128 PRO) doesn't support this resolution.
The question now is: is there a video board with 1680x1050 resolution compatible with my MoBo Lucky Star? I don't care at all if this is old, the main thing is it's compatible with my MoBo.

If yes, i've fixed all my problems....

Please help me for the last time.
Regards
emi.millo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:25 am

Wed Jan 23, 2008 5:17 pm

...this is the video board i've on now:

ATI Rage 128 Pro AGP4X TMDS 32Mb
internal DAC: 350 Mhz
Bus type: AGP 4X@2X

Is it enough? Do you need more info?
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Wed Jan 23, 2008 7:57 pm

install the latest ATI driver for your video card and make sure to get the .inf file for your monitor. no need to update the bios.
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
emi.millo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:25 am

Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:43 pm

Do you want to say i have no need to neither upgrade the BIOS nor change graphic board?
Wonderfull....if i only knew how to do it!!!!

What is this .inf are you talking about? I have a ACER P223W, that's all i know.....

I've already installed the latest driver for my graphic board but nothing's changed. Tha last chance is this .inf

Where do i get this .inf file?
Thanks again
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:10 pm

check the ACER site
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
emi.millo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:25 am

Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:30 pm

i've just checked everything in the site....nothing and nothing!!!

What do i have to do to have the right resoution?
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:15 am

g**gle search: 1st link = hit.

http://www.google.de/search?hl=en&q=ACE ... arch&meta=

followed the link inside and got to:
http://www.acerpanam.com/flex/acerdrive ... ivers.html

if only everything could be so easy!
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
emi.millo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:25 am

Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:38 pm

Thanks.....i already found it! but the question is.....what do i do with these 3 files?

Do u maybe know how to use them all?

Thanks again. I appreciate your help!
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Thu Jan 24, 2008 1:36 pm

install them. explorer->right-mouse on the .inf file->select install.
(1st g**gle hit if you'd have searched for .inf btw.)
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
Post Reply