Please help I really need to upgrade my bios

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
Post Reply
Waffle1
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 16, 2003 12:25 pm

Well i am having some problems with my pc and i think it is the bios. so i really want to upgrade it but i do not have a clue.

my bios details are

Program: Unicore BIOS Agent Version 2.01
BIOS Date: 08/27/01
BIOS Type: American Megatrends
BIOS ID: 62-0827-001437-00101111-040201-SiS735-K7S5A
BIOS Eval: K7S5A Release 08/27/2001 S
Chipset: SiS 735 rev 1
Superio: ITE 8705/SiS 950 rev 1 found at port 2Eh

and i think the company who made the motherboard is pcchps but when i go to their site there are loads of files and i do not know which one to choose and i am not in the mood to lose all my data on this pc.
so if anyone has any idea what i should do please help thanks
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

K7S5A - go to http://www.ecs.com.tw/
It is confusing because PC-Chips, ECS and various others seem to share a common manufacturing base - Hsing Tech.
Waffle1
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 16, 2003 12:25 pm

How do i find out which pcb i have or does it matter
and one more thing have i got award flash utility or ami flash utility
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

version is printed on the board top surface somewhere.
AMI bios, so AMI flash utility
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Latest Bios for all K7S5A is 021029TSD and unofficial 021129 modded to cheepo 1.12 OC-Bios with SSE-Fix for T-Bred Athlon XP CPU

www.ocworkbench.com has a good K7S5A Guide in the ECS Forum
Or try www.k7s5a.de.cx - german site but translation possible using the translate button on the site

Usually K7S5A-Problems come from using SDRAM and an insufficient PSU with weak 3.3V-line (feeding the SDRAM) or an overheating SIS chipset due to the used doublesided tape between chipset and chipset heatsink
Waffle1
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 16, 2003 12:25 pm

Denniss wrote:Latest Bios for all K7S5A is 021029TSD and unofficial 021129 modded to cheepo 1.12 OC-Bios with SSE-Fix for T-Bred Athlon XP CPU

www.ocworkbench.com has a good K7S5A Guide in the ECS Forum
Or try www.k7s5a.de.cx - german site but translation possible using the translate button on the site

Usually K7S5A-Problems come from using SDRAM and an insufficient PSU with weak 3.3V-line (feeding the SDRAM) or an overheating SIS chipset due to the used doublesided tape between chipset and chipset heatsink
so are you saying that it doest not matter which pcb i have that i can just download that one cause i still cant find my pcb
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Yep - K7S5A Rev 1.x and 3.x have the same Bios up to the unofficial 021129 AKA chb1129 OC AKA Cheepo 1.12 OC-Bios

I have one of the very first K7S5A rev 1.X with the chb1129 Bios and no problems at all
Waffle1
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 16, 2003 12:25 pm

thanks dennis but one last thing on the site it says you have to use a disk to start up in dos mode but i have win 2000 pro and it says

Beware: Windows 2000/Me are not allowed to make a DOS boot diskette

so what do i do any help will make me very grateful
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Create one using a self-extracting image from www.bootdisk.com. You will need to delete the config.sys and autoexec.bat from it. In fact, delete everything except the command.com and the two hiddden files (io.sys and msdos.sys or whatever).
Waffle1
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 16, 2003 12:25 pm

so what is the file i need to download exactly called? is it just the windows 2000 one and lastly what are the odds that the bios flashing dosent work
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Better use the DRDOS "Basic/Biosflash" Bootdisk
Nothing to delete - only the files needed to boot are installed on this disk
Post Reply