Procomp BVK1A MB that reports as a Biostar M7MKE

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
Post Reply
blbjr
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2002 1:05 am

Want to update the BIOS on my Procomp BVK1A MB, however the Award BIOS code is 6A6LKBO9C-00, which is the Biostar M7MKE board. Board shows up in SiSoftSandra as Biostar M7MKE, WCPUID 3.0 as Biostar M7MKE. If it walks like a...and quacks like a...its a Biostar or Procomp? The BIOS updates are of different sizes and dates on each manufacturers website with the Biostar update being the more recent of the two. Afraid I will make a "fatal" mistake in flashing the BIOS. Any help would be appreciated. By the way, the reason for this escapade: I have a box that I cannot get to operate in 4x AGP transfer mode despite being capable and all diagnostics that I run suggest that I adjust the transfer rate as it is presently at 2x on a 4x capable board with a 4x capable card. Also Sandra reports that my SMBIOS/DMI information is inaccurate and possibly corrupt. Box config follows:
BVK1A or M7MKE
Athlon 700 slot A "classic" CPU
768 MB 133 SDRAM
10 GB Quantum HD
SiS 315, AG 315 T Vid card, 64 MB, AGP 2.0, AGP 4x
Win2k Pro

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

bios says biostar, what on earth says it's a procomp board? markings on the board itself? the booklet with the board? the invoice? Only valid one would be the board markings.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
blbjr
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2002 1:05 am

Mb is marked Procomp BVK1A rev 1.0 in 2 places. Manual is from Procomp. Person I got it from told me he bought it from Procomp, which of course in and of itself is irrelevant, fact is I acquired this board in a processor/case swap as an extra...just so happened that until I am ready to move to another board [Financially] I am stuck with this thing. It is marked on two places/actually stamped, "BVK1A ver 1.0"
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

It actually is Biostar board but sold by Procomp. On this page http://www.biostar-usa.com/Archives/arc ... e_bios.htm, there's a BIOS without Biostar logo. This BIOS is the same as the latest one from Procomp.
This BIOS appears to be the most recent "06/29/2001-8371-686A-6A6LKB09C-00" http://www.biostar-europe.de/bios/Mke0629f.bin
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
blbjr
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2002 1:05 am

MANY, MANY, MANY THNAKS! GOING TO TRY IT TODAY. MAYBE IT WILL HELP SOLVE MY AGP 4X PROBLEM.

BYRON
Post Reply