Searching for Atrend ATC-5220 BIOS file? (5220v108.zip)

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
Cyberrat
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:59 am

HI there, I am searching for the BIOS file for my Atrend ATC-5220 motherboard.

BIOS String MVP3-586B-SMC-ATC-5220C-GA

The atrend site appears to be defunct now, and the xsonictech successor does not appear to have the older boards on.

So I am asking if anyone out there has a copy of the latest BIOS file from them (Was http://www.atrend.com/bios/5220v108.zip I think).


Also, does anyone have the VIA MVP3 AGP update files for this board?
They soon dissapeared from the via site.

Thankyou.
Roland.
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Cyberrat
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:59 am

Thankyou.
What do I need the VIA 4in1 pack for?
and where do I get this?
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

VIA 4-in-1 - drivers for VIA chipsets (AGP & IDE & don't know what else)
http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=2
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Cyberrat
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:59 am

Thankyou.
Dare I also ask which program I should use to flash this?
Award BIOS V4.51PG ?

Incidentally, the BIOS on board is V1.0 08GS
This isnt V1.08 as per the file is it?
if it is do you know if it will accept a 60Gb hard drive??

Roland.
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

It is the same BIOS. It does not work with HDDs over 32GB. If you want, I can send you patched version that will work upto 64GB.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

I have a 10/99 Bios for an Atrend ATC5220
Version is 2.0 01GS
Bios-ID :
10/18/1999-MVP3-586B-SMC-ATC-5220C-QP

I have seen it working an a 5220 but i don't have the Board for a 40Gig test .
But according to the date it should work .
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Thanks for info! I found it online at ftp://ftp.ventura.ru/DRIVERS/Main%20Boa ... 20201a.bin

But 1.0 vs 2.0 usually means different board version.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Cyberrat
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:59 am

IF the link just above this is the 60gb+ file then please ignore the IM Rainbow.
I just got an IBM Deskstar 60gb ATA100 7200 drive and really want to use it at 60gb as my primary drive..(touch wood).

Incidentally, the BIOS chip itself, I take it that I can extract it from the board, take it to work and get it copied from there, reflashed with the new one.
Then if it doesnt work, put the origional back in...?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

What chiptype is currently in the board (make/model under the sticker) and what do you want to replace it with?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Cyberrat
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:59 am

OK, the chip is the Winbon W29C011A-15.

I have a collection of Atmel AT29C010A and ASD AE29F2008 chips, and have been told that the Atmel one may work...
Will an EPROM do for testing?
If so which one?
Thanks.
tomekl
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 3:25 pm

Rainbow wrote:It is the same BIOS. It does not work with HDDs over 32GB. If you want, I can send you patched version that will work upto 64GB.
I foud other versions of bios for ATC 5220 in net (5220v200, 5220201a and 5220v108 - form wim's page) but the size of files is different how the backup from M/B (i.e. from net 131.072 b, from M/B 431.032 b) and flasher after this (awd812.exe) tell me, so files don't match with my system and stops the flash procedure. Could You help me with this?
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

See what your board displays during POST. If it's something like this:
ATC-5220 VER:2.0 01 GS
use v201a file.
If it's like this:
ATC-5220 VER:1.0 08 GS
use v108 file.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
tomekl
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 3:25 pm

Rainbow wrote:See what your board displays during POST. If it's something like this:
ATC-5220 VER:2.0 01 GS
use v201a file.
If it's like this:
ATC-5220 VER:1.0 08 GS
use v108 file.
OK, I need a v108 but when I try it is the same situation - flasher stops work with communicate "The program file's part number does not match with your system". If after this I ignore a communicate and press Y to continue flasher hangs up or simply finsh work and back to dos. Anyway what can be with the size of files - 131 b of v108 from wim's page and 400 b backup from mainboard?
thanks for help
p.s. how are You thinking - maybe some virus is resident in BIOS memory? (cich)
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

What's your BIOS ID?
400KB backup is 100% bad. Use another version of Awdflash or try UniFlash.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Post Reply