'Source File not Found'

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
Post Reply
LayMan
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 9:55 pm

Hi all,

Like so many of you I want to flash my BIOS (to support my new large HDD), but I'm new at all this and not really a computer genius. Yet I decided to venture on a question of my own, after browsing this board for some time without finding (or at least recognising as such :) ) the answer to my particular problem.

I ran a BIOS-agent and it gave me these specs on my BIOS:

Type: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG (03 March 2000)
ID: 6A69MM49C
Signon: 03/30/2000-i810-6A69MM49C-00
Chipset: Intel Whitney 82810 rev 3
OEM Signon: W6178MF1 V1.5 033000

I've been a good boy and I downloaded a flash utility and a ... (well I don't know what it is but I read I needed it somewhere)... anyway, I downloaded these:

AWDFH752.EXE and Vkb0524b.bin (are those the right ones anyway?)

So far so good, but when I run the .exe-file (in DOS),
I continually get the following error message: 'Source File Not Found',
after which I'm thrown back into the C-prompt.
Both files are attributed 'Archive' but not 'Read-Only' or 'Hidden'.

Anyone out there who can help me out here? (otherwise it's 50GB and a lot of good money down the drain for me).
Thanx in advance,

LayMan
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Just confirm that you've got no himem.sys or emm.sys (in fact no config.sys), that the .bin file is in the root directory, and that your command line is
AWDFH752 Vkb0524b.bin /sn /py /cc
Tested patched BIOSes. Untested patched BIOSes.
Emails *will* be ignored unless the subject line starts "Wim's BIOS forum"
zonxar
Master Flasher
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 7:26 pm
Location: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

CAUTION
The BIOS file you are attempting to use is for a Biostar M7VKB motherboard, Socket A with VIA KT133/133A chipset.
The information from your post points to a MicroStar (MSI) motherboard, model MS-6178 with an Intel 810 chipset. Please verify which motherboard you have before you perform the flash to avoid flashing with the incorrect BIOS!
LayMan
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 9:55 pm

Wow,

I had to read over your replies a coulple of times to sort of understand,
but I think I get it now. You scared me, though.
So I opened up my computer case, and with a mix of surprise and relief I found that I indeed have that particular motherboard: MS6178, version 1.1.
I guess I didn't realise that updating a BIOS was quite so tricky.
I'll be searching the Net to find a more appropriate .bin file. When I do so, I'll copy it to my root directory, as Nick suggested.
Thanks a lot and I'll keep you posted.

LM
zonxar
Master Flasher
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 7:26 pm
Location: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

You will find the latest at:
http://www.msi.com.tw/program/support/b ... ME=MS-6178
The file name is w6178v20.exe :) :) :)
LayMan
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 9:55 pm

Hi fellas,

Sorry bout the absence, I was gone a couple of days.
I did succesfully flash my BIOS with the file you provided,
thanx zonxar. I now have a W6178 v.2.0 BIOS.
Trouble is, it still doesn't seem to recognise new the HDD (it still says 32 GB instead of 80).
Any idea what I might be doing wrong?

LayMan
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Remove the 32GB Limit jumper from your HDD !! > check documentation or printings on your HDD to identify this jumper .
LayMan
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 9:55 pm

Thanx guys,

It's all fine now, the BIOS is flashed and the HDD is recognised.
I thought I was "just" going to install a new HDD, but boy did it turn out different.
Glad you were around to help out :)

LayMan
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

I think most if not all of us now by now you NEVER "just install" something. Ever.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply