what do i do with .rom file?

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
Post Reply
iamskull
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 11:58 pm

i have the .rom file for my pcchips m715 v 1.2 mainboard. tried flashing the bios, using the universal flashbios v 8.55, wouldn't work. so, what do i do with the .rom file or where do i put it? thanx.
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Do a websearch for AMIFL634.COM and use that as the flasher.
iamskull
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 11:58 pm

well, thanx for the info and i did that and it upgraded the bios to what i wanted. but what it doesn't do is read my cpu at 400mhz instead of the 266mhz it was at previously. the reason i went through this is to get the m715 to work with my 400 from the 266 that was previously. pcchips said it added support to the latest .bios upgrade for my mainboard up to 533 which it has done. but as i said, i just installed a P2 400 from a P2 266 and it is still reading it at 266. i did change the cpu plug n play setting to 400 as well in the bios setup. any suggestions?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Make sure ALL memory sticks are PC-100 or PC-133, NO PC-66 in there.
iamskull
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 11:58 pm

no, my memory is pc100. could it be that my chipset is 66mhz bus when p2 400 runs on a 100 mhz bus? if that's the case, why would pcchips add support for up to 533 on a 66mhz bus? i read that p2 400 mhz only runs properly on a 100 mhz bus. my chipset is intel 440 EX/LX rev 3, by the way.
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

They add support for up to 533MHz for the 66MHz Celerons .
Not possible to run the multiplier-fixed P2-400 with 400MHz as it needs FSB100 and the Board's max is 66/68
Post Reply