AWARD Flash Programmer option

Discusses BIOS flashers and utilities from Award, AMI and Uniflash
Ritchie
BIOS Guru

Hi - I'm new to this message board. I posted this topic on a different message board and someone suggested I look on this message board for the answer. I have read the rules, checked the FAQ and collected wisdom, and have scanned some other topics on this message board and could not find an answer. Hopefully someone can help me.

Anyway, I recently flashed a Socket 7 VX board and am basically not 100% happy with the result. I want to go back to a previous version but the manufacturer does not provide any versions except for the one I flashed, and I am unable to locate my backup - I had two - one got destroyed.

A friend I was talking to suggested the USE ORIGINAL FLASH ROUTINES (or an option called thereabouts) in the AWARD flash programmer. According to him, in some versions of AWARD FLASH this restores the original runtime code to the BIOS, in other versions it also restores all the capabiltiies of the original BIOS (eg: HDD detection capabilties, options available within setup, etc.). He also said that sometimes this option works and sometimes it does not work. What I am trying to find out is:

* Does this option work the way my friend describes?
* What version does this option restore back to (first version, factory version, previous version, etc.)?
* What happens when the option does not work? Is the BIOS corrupted or destroyed for example?
* What versions of the flash programmer restore runtime code, what versions restore capabilties also?

Thanks in advance for responses.
Denniss
BIOS Guru

There is an option awdflash /F to use the flash routines from the Bios file and not from the Bios already installed .
But this has nothing to do with restoring the Bios to its original older Bios .
Try awdflash /? for all possible options of the Award flashprogram .
Another option is /CC to clear CMOS after flashing but this can be done with a jumper too .