1920x1080 on Lenovo 3000 v200

Video, SCSI, modem, CDROM/CDR/CDRW, etc.
Post Reply
xo...
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 2:16 am

Hi I have a Dell monitor with 1920x1080 resolution
but my Laptop Lenovo 3000 v200 do not allow me to use this resolution.
and has been advice that is the limitation with the bios.
I have up to date graphic card driver, bios, still doest work.

Link to bios http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... 68384.html
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6231
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Specs:
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-67690
Intel Graphics Media Accelerator X3100 video chipset (up to 128MB)
The resolution you mention is the 1080p standard which is supported by this GPU:
http://download.intel.com/products/grap ... _guide.pdf

Latest "IBM/Lenovo" flavoured driver is version 14.27 something from mid 2007
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... 67978.html

Latest Intel driver is dated 3rd quarter 2008 version 14.36
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_ ... l&lang=eng

Somehow I think the Lenovo up to date driver is not supporting this yet, try the Intel one.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
xo...
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 2:16 am

edwin wrote:Specs:
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-67690
Intel Graphics Media Accelerator X3100 video chipset (up to 128MB)
The resolution you mention is the 1080p standard which is supported by this GPU:
http://download.intel.com/products/grap ... _guide.pdf

Latest "IBM/Lenovo" flavoured driver is version 14.27 something from mid 2007
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... 67978.html

Latest Intel driver is dated 3rd quarter 2008 version 14.36
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_ ... l&lang=eng

Somehow I think the Lenovo up to date driver is not supporting this yet, try the Intel one.

I've got my display card driver from intel directly, only the bios is from lenovo.

I got a reply from intel forum http://software.intel.com/en-us/forums/ ... pic/61326/
people saying that is the problem with my bios.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6231
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Ah. It is not a problem, it is by design. You really need to bug lenovo about this, they are using a pretty customized bios into which hacking is virtually impossible.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
xo...
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 2:16 am

edwin wrote:Ah. It is not a problem, it is by design. You really need to bug lenovo about this, they are using a pretty customized bios into which hacking is virtually impossible.
so is it possible for me to pathch the vbios with the lenovo bios?
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

no. why? read the sticky thread in this section!
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
Post Reply