1366x768 not supported ??

Video, SCSI, modem, CDROM/CDR/CDRW, etc.
Post Reply
p15c35
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 1:13 pm

Sat Jun 19, 2010 1:23 pm

well guys, i need help for my bios..(sorry for my bad english :P)

BIOS Date: 12/07/05
BIOS Type: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
BIOS ID: 12/07/2005-SiS-661-6A7I4WBAC-00
OEM Sign-On: SIS661FX, -004
Superio: NSC 332 rev 8 found at port 2Eh
CPU Type: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU
CPU Speed: 1700 Mhz
CPU Max: 1500 Mhz
BIOS ROM In Socket: Yes
BIOS ROM Size: 256K
Memory Installed: 768 MB
Memory Maximum: 4096 MB

VGA adapter: Sis Mirage Graphic 3.90
size: 64mb

well, i don't know how to search it..can someone help me ? :D
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:41 am

1366x768 not supported ??
yes, not supported. at least with the current SiS Windows drivers and all known videobios versions. there are several ways out:
1. buy an add-on vga card without SiS chipset (disabling the onboard unit)
2. use Linux and its 3rd party drivers which support virtually any resolution
3. buy a new mainboard without SiS chipset
4. write an email to your mainboard manufacturer and complain about the missing resolution support
5. write an email to SiS and complain about the quality of their Windows drivers

if you want a quick fix consider 1.-3.
if you want an answer to your complaint (negative, but at least an answer!) consider 4.
and if you really don't care consider 5.
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
p15c35
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 1:13 pm

Sun Jun 20, 2010 10:47 am

well...i've upgraded my vga to latest version ( 3.90 )...and my desktop has 1366x768 resolution...i wonder why my monitor can't keep resolution ( my monitor detect only 102x768 )

btw, can u help me to update my VBIOS ? (if any ?)...
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Sun Jun 20, 2010 10:23 pm

i wonder why my monitor can't keep resolution ( my monitor detect only 102x768 )
it only detects 1024x768 because the SiS Windows driver SETS IT TO 1024x768! the driver scans the modelines from the bios and programs the vga sequencer accordingly. if there's no modeline for 1366x768 it simply uses the one that's close enough. this surely is NOT the native resolution of the lcd (which results in ugly stretching and/or scrolling of the desktop).

the driver COULD bring its own modelines and ignore those from the video bios..if only SiS would have written a proper driver. but since they didn't users keep asking the same questions over and over again.

if you don't believe me: go and grab a recent linux live cd (distribution doesn't matter) which includes the linux SiS driver. go and set the desktop to 1366x768 and watch how the SiS hardware can generate proper native LCD resolutions (of virtually any size).
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
p15c35
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 1:13 pm

Tue Jun 22, 2010 4:44 pm

hmm, so VGA SiS CANT make 1366x768 ? well..i uninstall the driver...and my monitor CAN show more than 1024x768...

well....do you know any updates ( driver, bios <- if any ) for my VGA ??

btw, thanks for your answers :D :D
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Tue Jun 22, 2010 6:07 pm

hmm, so VGA SiS CANT make 1366x768?
if you don't believe me: go and grab a recent linux live cd (distribution doesn't matter) which includes the linux SiS driver. go and set the desktop to 1366x768 and watch how the SiS hardware can generate proper native LCD resolutions (of virtually any size).
look, like i already wrote: the hardware itself can do virtually any resolution (limitied by available video ram and some sequencer restrictions (RAMDAC, etc) ofcourse). the problem is the Windows driver from SiS which just reads modelines from the VGA bios. to my knowledge there's no SiS vbios that supports 1366x768. so you can't use 1366x786 with the Windows driver from SiS. to my knowlegde there's no 3rd party driver for Windows.

so you still have those 5 options i listed earlier.
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
p15c35
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 1:13 pm

Thu Jun 24, 2010 12:23 pm

hum...time to upgrade my computer :D

btw, thanks for your help. It WAS HELPING me a LOT ! :D :D
Post Reply