Dimension 4600 RAM Upgrade

Is your memory not fully recognized? (Intel VX chipset Memory recognition)
chucky321
New visitors - please read the rules.

Hi everyone,

I have an old Dell Dimension 4600 that came with two sticks of 128 RAM. It has 4 slots and can be upgraded to 4g of RAM. I bought 4 sticks of 1g RAM and installed them. Now when I boot the pc it says it can only use 256 and gives me the option to continue booting or use the setup utility. In the setup utility under memory it lists 4096 RAM. When I go to Windows (XP 32bit) it only lists the 256 RAM. I'm new to doing hardware upgrades and am not sure if I need to rewrite the BIOS or upgrade to 64bit Windows or what. I've read the BIOS updates for the version I'm running (A10) and it doesn't list anything about increasing RAM. So, I'm pretty much lost at this point. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
edwin
The Hardware Archivist

When you leave the setup utility does it ask you to save changes and exit? If so, save changes. If not, power down, remove 2 sticks of ram and see if that works. 32bit windows is only good up to about 3 - 3.5GB of ram, 4GB may be just too much too handle.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Denniss
BIOS Guru

WinXP works fine with 4 GiB RAM installed. It's just the problem it is only capable to use ~3.2 GB due to the space limitations with 32Bit adresses.

http://support.dell.com/support/downloa ... id=&impid=
chucky321

Yes edwin it does ask to save changes and continue. Should I remove a stick and try that to see if it works? Denniss I followed your link and the A12 bios is on there. Should I try and flash from my A10 version to A12? Thanks!
KachiWachi
The New Guy

I own a Dell Dimension 4600i, and have the A12 BIOS installed.

Are you sure that all of your memory sticks are non-ECC, PC2700 (or PC3200) DDR?

Thanks.
chucky321