N/A

Video, SCSI, modem, CDROM/CDR/CDRW, etc.
Post Reply
jwaiv
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 7:56 pm

N/A
Last edited by jwaiv on Sun Dec 04, 2022 6:21 pm, edited 3 times in total.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6284
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

You tried to put in pictures into your posting but this isn't Word, it's a webpage. You need to put the pictures online somewhere and link to them. If you have the actual recovery image of your bios before, why can't you flash that one back using Sony's tool?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
jwaiv
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 7:56 pm

N/A
Last edited by jwaiv on Sun Dec 04, 2022 6:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6284
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

I'm starting to wonder if the actual Intel chip is not malfunctioning and if you actually enabled onboard LAN in the bios. Did you reset the bios to defaults after flashing?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
jwaiv
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 7:56 pm

N/A
Last edited by jwaiv on Sun Dec 04, 2022 6:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6284
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Can you send the older bios + your current backup bios to me? And please include the MAC address from your machine (should be printed on a sticker somewhere on the motherboard, EA= ************ ).
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
jwaiv
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 7:56 pm

N/A
Last edited by jwaiv on Sun Dec 04, 2022 6:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6284
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

So basically what you need to do is flashing that SPIBACKUP.BIN because it has the missing info, check if the MAC address is visible. If not, I fear your onboard LAN chip somehow died. If it is visible, upgrade to the NEWBIOS.BIN
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
jwaiv
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 7:56 pm

N/A
Last edited by jwaiv on Sun Dec 04, 2022 6:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6284
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

That is what I was trying to achieve with having you restore the SPI backup version since that was having the info in the proper location for that revision. Upgrading a fully functional bios to the next revision should work normally then. However, if you somehow managed to fix things in a different way, let us know, since as you said, there are other people out there with the same problem...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply