Motherboard doesn't recognize 4GB RAM correctly.

Is your memory not fully recognized? (Intel VX chipset Memory recognition)
Post Reply
free
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 4:18 pm

Motherboard doesn't recognize 4GB RAM correctly.

Post by free » Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:25 pm

Motherboard is Intel® Entry Server Board SE7210TP1-E
Latest BIOS is here.
Motherboard recognize only 4032MB, but 4096MB memory is inserted.
Intel does not provide support for this motherboard anymore: "Notice : End of Interactive Support".
How to fix memory size only show 4032MB?

Thanks in advance.

edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6206
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Motherboard doesn't recognize 4GB RAM correctly.

Post by edwin » Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:28 am

Most likely the onboard video is taking 64MB. Are you using memory of the tested and approved list given by Intel?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...

free
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 4:18 pm

Re: Motherboard doesn't recognize 4GB RAM correctly.

Post by free » Mon Aug 20, 2012 11:00 am

edwin wrote:Most likely the onboard video is taking 64MB. Are you using memory of the tested and approved list given by Intel?
Initially I thought it was this, but Technical Product Specification says:
"Integrated 2D/3D graphics controller: ATI Rage* XL Video Controller with 8MB of SDRAM"
When I put 3x1024MB the bios shows memory correctly - 3072MB.
I doubt that the problem is that I have no memory remapping feature in the BIOS.

edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6206
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Motherboard doesn't recognize 4GB RAM correctly.

Post by edwin » Mon Aug 20, 2012 2:31 pm

You're not answering my question. Are your modules in this list?
http://download.intel.com/support/mothe ... _rev34.pdf
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...

free
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 4:18 pm

Re: Motherboard doesn't recognize 4GB RAM correctly.

Post by free » Mon Aug 20, 2012 3:13 pm

My memory modules is not in the list.

Kingston KTH-D530/1G x2pcs
BSME16A0994
9905193-135.A00LF

Kingston KTH-D530/1G x2pcs
BSMQ1610866
9905193-054.A01LF

edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6206
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Motherboard doesn't recognize 4GB RAM correctly.

Post by edwin » Mon Aug 20, 2012 4:12 pm

Those are non-ECC modules for a Proliant D530 which is different from the
http://www.kingston.com&ktcpartno=KVR400X72C3A/1G
modules that are specified by Kingston to use for this board.

Ofcourse I am not 100% sure this may cause the issue of the 64MB missing. If you boot to a memtest86 CD does it report 4032 in there as well?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...

free
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 4:18 pm

Re: Motherboard doesn't recognize 4GB RAM correctly.

Post by free » Mon Aug 20, 2012 4:37 pm

edwin wrote:If you boot to a memtest86 CD does it report 4032 in there as well?
Yes Memtest86 shows 4032M Cached memory.
I tested the memory with Memtest86 successfully 4 times.

edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6206
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Motherboard doesn't recognize 4GB RAM correctly.

Post by edwin » Tue Aug 21, 2012 12:54 pm

Not sure if the remapping feature would be completely bug-free. I don't know if it's possible to implement/activate this feature.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...

Post Reply