Do I need BIOS update to run at max RAM?

Is your memory not fully recognized? (Intel VX chipset Memory recognition)
Post Reply
Pross
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 10:48 am

Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:11 am

I have recently upgraded my Emachines Etower C633 CD from standard 64MB SDRam to 256 MB ( 2 x 128MB double sided) but the machine failed to start up. I have now replaced the one 128MB with the original 64MB and the machine runs at 192MB. The memory supplier says my BIOS needs upgrading is the true? BIOS information is Phoenix BIOS 4.0 release 6.0 date 01/09/01 BIOS ID 31511.EM.0000.D.0101091529 with Intel Whitney 82810 rev 3 chipset.
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Fri Jun 06, 2003 2:19 pm

Tried to run with the 64Mb and the second 128MB stick ?
Just to make sure the second one is not damaged
soupy
Absentee administrator
Posts: 1086
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:06 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Fri Jun 06, 2003 2:38 pm

Double-sided 128MB DIMMs? :?

Have you tried 2 x 128MB single-sided?
Flash your BIOS at your own risk.
Pross
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 10:48 am

Fri Jun 06, 2003 6:36 pm

Thanks for the relies. Second stick had some pins melt after several attempts. Also running BIOS agent shows the max ram to be 512mb but the PC says 256mb max should I be able to upgrade to 512mb?
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Fri Jun 06, 2003 7:41 pm

i810 is limited to 256MB max per stickif my information is recent enough
Same limitation as i440BX has - 256MB double sided stick with 16 memory chips

But two double sided memory 128MB sticks should work together without problems unless they have only 4 memory chips
Post Reply