computer monitor "no signal" problem

Video, SCSI, modem, CDROM/CDR/CDRW, etc.
Post Reply
AustinCann
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:49 pm

Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:55 pm

I recently designed a software application to run on a personal computer running windows 7. This computer has another monitor connected to it through a vga cable. Everytime now I power it up, all I see on monitors is no signal message in the centre of the screen. This is really what my customer has reported to me and I am going to look at the problem tomorrow. Customer knows basics about computers and I believe there could be something more technical resulting this behaviour and I want to list all issues which can cause this problem before I get there. Please help

Kind Regards
Austin
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Fri Jan 13, 2012 3:23 pm

If the monitor also has a DVI or HDMI input, make sure the VGA input is selected in the first place.
Make sure the VGA cable is actually connected to the system
The system itself is actually powering on?
Is there anything known about the hardware specifications of the machine?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
AustinCann
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:49 pm

Sat Jan 14, 2012 3:47 pm

Hello thanks for your answers. Let me explain what I have got here and what I did today.

I have an i3 pc installed with windows home premium. On display side, two monitors one connected to vga port and second through converter(I think HDMI). This system had worked fine whole year.

Today when I connected 230 V to PC, I saw text " No Signal" for about 7 seconds. It disappeared and there was nothing displayed on the monitors after that

I removed vga cables and connected to my laptop, both monitors worked with no issues.

I took off the cover of the pc to check if I could spot some problems. Both fans were working. I check cd rom by pressing eject button and its working fine too.

I finished for the day thinking Oh God! I chose to do software for pc's and I am struggling to turn the pc on. God Bless me. God Bless All.

Please help!

Thanks Austin
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:39 am

Basically it isn't sending signals to the monitor so something is wrong with the system. I suggest you call the technical support section of the PC manufacturer and let them help you out.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
jameel-789-riazi
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 12:16 pm

Tue Jul 17, 2018 12:29 pm

Hi, if you,re monitor isn't catching signals, then may be you need to change the vga cable, or take it back to the shop.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:43 pm

I just thought of something. Can you please replace the CR2032 coin cell battery with a brand new one. If that one is empty (lifespan is between 3 and 10 years) the system will react like this too. It's an easy and cheap fix, so if this works...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply