Disabling Onboard VGA

Video, SCSI, modem, CDROM/CDR/CDRW, etc.
mapmap
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:49 am

My computer has a intregrated graphics card while it has a AGP slot, so I tryed to install a AGP graphics card on my motherboard but I learned that I have to disable the on board VGA (after finding that plugging the new video card in didn't do anything and the computer did not even sense it) so i went into the bios to disable the onboard graphics but learnt that there was no way to disable it. So I went searching on the ECS site for a bios update but learnt my motherboard was a mobo so I ended up not being able to find one.

So basicly what I'm thinking is that a newer bios will have a setting to diable the onboard VGA so here are some specs I took from bios agent plus and hopefully someone finds a bios update for me.

Manufacturer: ECS
Model: M925
BIOS type: American Megatrends
BIOS ID: 62-0627-001131-00101111-040201-VIA_P6
BIOS sign on: M925LR
BIOS date: 2002.06.27
Chipset: VIA 82C3148 rev 0
SuperIO chipset: ITE 8705/SiS 950 rev 2 at port 002E

I also have CPUZ incase you need anymore specs of my board. Thanks in advance!
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

the onboard VGA will be disabled when you plug in an AGP or PCI VGA card. did you check if the VGA card is compatible to the AGP slot? did you check if the card is working at all?
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
mapmap
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:49 am

yes I have 2 graphics cards I tryed to plug into it and they both did not work also i know they work because i tryed them both on my other computer
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6231
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

What exact make and model are the graphics cards?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
mapmap
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:49 am

I have a rage 128 pro AGP and a Nvidia Geforce GST/Geforce pro Agp card.

Also in the bios there is a setting that you can switch from agp to pci so i set it to pci and pluged in my rage 128 pro PCI card into a pci slot and it worked which confuses me even more about what the problem is.
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

check this guide, your mainboard's agp slot and your vga cards:

http://www.playtool.com/pages/agpcompat/agp.html
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
mapmap
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:49 am

my motherboard has a universal agp slot and both my graphics cards have the 3.3 volt and 1.5 volt keys (universal AGP). I also used CPU-Z to find my AGP slot is version 2.0 and is 4x the only way my graphics cards would not work on my motherboard is if it had a AGP 3.0 slot, is there a way i could double check if my slot is version 2.0 with another program?
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

the mainboard bios seems quite old. maybe a bios update will help, though there's nothing listed like fixing AGP problems in the bios release information. check the pcchips page for an update.
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
mapmap
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:49 am

could you give me a link to the pcchips page?
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

ever tried using an internet search engine?

pcchips.com.tw?
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
mapmap
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:49 am

oh... well i tried flashing my bios but the old bios says my board is a m925lr so i googled it in images and its my exact motherboard but the pcchips site doesn't have a option for the m925lr any help?
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

M925*L* will do.
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
mapmap
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:49 am

i updated the boards bios but turns out there is still no option to disable onboard vga
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

did you check the vga boot order? it should NOT be set to onboard to make the agp card the first vga device on boot. make sure your card has a monitor attached while switching the machine on.
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
mapmap
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:49 am

there is no vga boot order in my bios

http://www.pcchips.com.tw/PCCWebSite/Do ... =6&LanID=0

this manual for my motherboard shows all the screens in my bios
Post Reply