Need Help for VBIOS update ASUS Vintage-PE1

Video, SCSI, modem, CDROM/CDR/CDRW, etc.
Radio Saturn
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 2:48 am

Hi @ all,
I've an Barebone Desktop PC from ASUS > Vintage -PE1 and a ACER AL1916W Flatscreen with 1440 x 900 resolution, but I cant't update the VBios of this PC to set this in Graphical Settings.
This Barebone PC has an internal SIS 661 FX Chipset and ASUS writes that this VBios Chipsets supports 1440 x 900 Pix with the newest Bios V.0413 (with VBios upgrade to 2.49) ... but nothings happens (the V-Bios will not upgrade and shows already 2.20)

Original Text from ASUS Downloadcenter:
Vintage-PE1 BIOS version 0413
1- Support new CPUs. Please refer to our website at: http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/cpusupport.aspx
2- Updated VBIOS to 2.49 to support 1440x900 wide screen (Be sure to use vga driver 3.74.02 or later)
3- Enhance compatibility with some CPU.

But Point 2- VBIOS will not update ... i'f made the update ~8 Times (Automatic updater / select Bios from File / DOS-Start disc and DOS Biosupdate ...) but nothing will update this shi... VBIOS
What can I Do to get this resolution?
Graphical Driver is already up to date ...

Best thanks and sorry for my bad english
Radio Saturn
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

please send a link to the bios. i'll take a look into it.
Radio Saturn
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 2:48 am

Hi cp,
here is the link to that BIOS:
http://dlsvr01.asus.com/pub/ASUS/Barebo ... 1_0413.zip

Thanks for looking
Radio Saturn
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

patched bios sent.
Radio Saturn
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 2:48 am

Hi cp,
thanks for sending patched BIOS but nothing happened ... it already shows:
Software Version 3.80
Treiberversion 3.80
BIOS (OEM Produktversion) 2.20.00 ...

shi... happens

Greetings
Radio Saturn
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6231
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

you made sure you flashed the bios OK? It sounds like it is not upgrading the main bios at all.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Radio Saturn
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 2:48 am

Yes,
the BIOS of the Computer Shows at Startup 0413 (latest updated version) and it's up to date ... but only the VBIOS is not updated ...
I updated with newest ASUS updater for Windows (select File for update > sendet File) and also with AFUDOS for DOS Startdisk & sendet File ... the VBIOS will not update :cry:

I don't know what can I do else ...

Greetings
Radio Saturn
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Did you flash the patched Bios cp sent to you? Only this Bios has the newest VGA ROM integrated.

BTW, the latest SIS UniVGA3 driver should be 3.83 or 3.84.
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

i'll recheck the patched bios as soon as i'm back at my machine. meanwhile please check if everything went right flashing the bios as edwin suggested. and make sure to update your SIS vga drivers as Denniss suggested.
Radio Saturn
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 2:48 am

Hi, me again,
@ Denniss,
... of course i did use the patched BIOS from cp (2 Times ... i wrote already) ... the System BIOS is already updated to Version 0413 ... but no Change to VBIOS happened ... it shows the old VBIOS Version 2.20 :(
@ cp,
... I have downloaded and installed now the actually Unicode VGA3 Graphic Driver Version 3.83 (6.14.10.3830) from SIS Downloads ... but so long it's nothing changed until VBIOS is not Version 2.28 or higher :(

Greetings
Radio Saturn
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Did your flashprog actually flash the modified 0413 Bios (with the newer vbios) over the already installed original 0413 or did it stop complaining 0413 already installed?
Radio Saturn
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 2:48 am

@ Denniss,
1.) when flashing while Windows is running the Asus updater asked to flash this already installed BIOS again and than BIOS Eprom will be erased > than flashed > then I must restart and while Bootup I must enter setup menue (F1) or Take Standard settings (F2) to startup ... so it looks it will flash over existing 0413 BIOS.
2.) When I flash in DOS-Mode (with Startdisk, AFUDOS and Patched BIOS-Rom) it will everytime flash over all (erasing, writing & checking) without any Question ...

best regards
Radio Saturn
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

my fault. sorry for the confusion. patched bios (finally) sent.
Radio Saturn
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 2:48 am

Yeahhh,
Thank You Very Very Much for preparing this BIOS ... now it works well

Best regards
Radio Saturn
goo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:53 am

Is there any chance I can get that updated bios? I'm getting the same problem:

Bios updated to 0413
VBios still 2.20

And it's driving me nuts :? Thank you for you help.

-Jef
Post Reply