Bios problem

Ask a question about your computer setup.
Post Reply
Steve Gendle
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 8:38 pm

I have a 10G hard drive on my machine but whenever I start up my system it states my hard drive is only 2G, I have tried changing the BIOS and it finds 10G, I then save and all seems OK.

When I restart I notice my system again only sees 2G, I have tried everything I can think of but it will not stay at 10G, can anyone help?

Steve G
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

You see 10GB in BIOS but 2GB in OS? You need to repartition the HDD.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

I can not partition the drive as every time I go in the BIOS thinks I only have a 2G Drive. Yes I can try to change it in the BIOS and I request it to save but every time I reboot from floppy or the C drive you can see on the screen that the system has returned to 2G, could it be a corrupt BIOS (CMOS) or is the battery faulty or?????
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-Fu Master
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon May 13, 2002 11:20 pm
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

I encountered this problem before with a Figitsu 6GB.

You have to set the Heads, Sectors and Cylinders manually in the BIOS, using the settings deamed appropriate by the manufacturer. It will work at that point.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier
ar@gon
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 9:21 pm

have you tried to reformat hard disk may solve your problem :idea:
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6275
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Hardware Junkie wrote:I encountered this problem before with a Figitsu 6GB.

You have to set the Heads, Sectors and Cylinders manually in the BIOS, using the settings deamed appropriate by the manufacturer. It will work at that point.
Got any thought about a 10GB Fujitsu only showing 8GB in the bios and has head/cyl/spt settings on the drive that add up to 8GB only? This one is really puzzling. Tried several boards and bioses, all say it's 8,4GB.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Firmware-limited to avoid problems with old BIOSes ? That takes me back to days of ESDI drives. Can you get info on the model ?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6275
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

In two weeks when my vacation is over. It's lying in the office at present.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply