Can't select floppy option

Ask a question about your computer setup.
Post Reply
Elessar
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:57 pm

Fri Aug 11, 2006 11:30 pm

Hi,

I just got a new computer which didn't come with a floppy drive installed. Needing to transfer some files, I put the floppy drive in and went into BIOS to complete the installation. However, BIOS won't let me select the floppy option (it is greyed out), much less turn it on. I have a Phoenix - Award WorkstationBIOS v6.00PG, and everything except the floppy option is working fine and I can select it. What can I do?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Sun Aug 13, 2006 12:23 am

Enable the onboard floppy controller first, it's in the onboard peripherals section.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Elessar
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:57 pm

Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:14 pm

Thats the funny thing about it! The onboard floppy controller is already enabled. I've even tried disabling it, exiting BIOS, then going back in and enabling again, exiting, then re-entering to turn the floppy on, and yet nothing changes - I still can't select the floppy!
Elessar
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:57 pm

Sat Sep 16, 2006 1:55 am

Any ideas, anyone? :?
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Sat Sep 16, 2006 4:02 am

Are you not able to set the floppy to a specify drive type or are you not able to enable it in your boot priority ?

You usually have two options to fully enable a floppy drive: Enable the Flopy controller (as done) and set a pecify drice type, this is usually done on the same page your HDDs are listed.

What motherboard do you have ? Maybe it requires to use a more or less hidden "expert" option to change this ? What does your motherboard manual say to a Floppy ?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Sat Oct 07, 2006 3:37 pm

Some boards do have the "hide floppy in windows 95" option. I never understood that one but it is possible.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Sun Oct 08, 2006 2:17 pm

Isn't that option so you can't access the floppy...even though it is installed?

I've actually never tried it either so... :roll:
Elessar
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:57 pm

Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:31 pm

Denniss wrote:Are you not able to set the floppy to a specify drive type or are you not able to enable it in your boot priority?
I am able to enable it in my boot priority, but not assign it to a drive. The option says "Drive A: None", but it is greyed out and I can't select it to make any changes.
Denniss wrote:You usually have two options to fully enable a floppy drive: Enable the Floppy controller (as done) and set a specific drive type, this is usually done on the same page your HDDs are listed.
How would I set a drive type other than changing drive A?
Denniss wrote:What motherboard do you have ? Maybe it requires to use a more or less hidden "expert" option to change this? What does your motherboard manual say to a Floppy ?
I have an NF-CK804 motherboard, but I can't find the manual.
Post Reply