CMOS Checksum

Ask a question about your computer setup.
Post Reply
Argosy
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 1:05 pm

Mon Aug 14, 2006 1:15 pm

I have a Fujitsui Siemens Scenic D1170running on Win98. A young relative used it to play a game he had and since then each time I boot I get the following error message." CMOS checksum bad default configuration used Check LBA translation mode". The computer clock is OK and not losing time so I assume the battery is OK but would the gane that was loaded have made changes to the BIOS. Computer boots OK as long as you press F1 after the two short bleeps. Can anyone advise. Thank you in advance.
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:41 pm

Replace the battery. Enter the BIOS, adjust the settings to appropriate values and quit the BIOS with saving the changes. The message will disappear.
Argosy
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 1:05 pm

Tue Aug 15, 2006 10:29 am

Thanks for your reply. I will change the battery but not sure about what setting I would need to adjust as I never made a record of the settings before the Error message appeared. Must say thought the battery was OK as the clock etc are running OK.
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Tue Aug 15, 2006 1:47 pm

The clock settings must not always be lost. I recently had a system where the Bios settings were gone but date and time fine. Battery had 2.3V instead of 3/3.3V .

Replace the battery and load Setup/Performance defaults in Bios (or whatever your Bios supports).
Argosy
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 1:05 pm

Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:37 am

Thanks for your help will change battery and re-load the settings
albertlbrt11
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 3:13 am

Fri Jun 25, 2010 8:33 am

Hello, I do have the same problem except that the IR shows a red led in s3 sleep mode, but Windows 7 starter is not awaking.
Is it required to have "USB root hub" beeing activated for "device can awake..."? Because it is greyed out here.

Do you have a solution?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Wed Jun 30, 2010 7:45 am

is the second serial port selected in the list of devices in the bios that can wake it up, that is where your IR is usually residing by default.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply