Arg! Which Abit am I?!

How-to identify your motherboard ?
Urakh
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 3:07 am

My MB is in a huge full tower (supermicro) behind my desk so I want to avoid opening up the case if at all possible! It would involve lifting it, and losing most of my upper body in the process! (*whimper-sniffle*)

I know I have an ABIT board because my info is:

08/24/1999-i440BX-W83977-2A69KA1UC-MU

but the 'UC' throws me off, I can't find info about it anywhere. I THINK I have a BE6 V2.0 (?), but I'm not sure. I sure don't want to flash the wrong BIOS! Ack!

I'd like to Flash it soon, lot's of neat things I can't do.. like ATA66! (ROFL)

Help? *pleads*

-Urakh-
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

MU is the Abit ID-Code for Bios releases .
Abit BE6 is the only BX based board using MU as ID
http://fae.abit.com.tw/eng/download/bios/be6.htm
Urakh
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 3:07 am

Thank you very much for the quick reply Denniss but something confuses me.

Based on the info from the wimsbios' website in my BIOS info:

08/24/1999-i440BX-W83977-2A69KA1UC-MU

A1 indicates the BIOS is for a ABIT motherboard and, UC indicates the model.

If you're right then the MU indicates the model in this case, but I believe it can't be a regular BE6 because I have a PIII 633MHz processor on my motherbaord right now, which - by the info on the link you provide - I'd had to have upgraded to 7/31/2000 BIOS, right? Mine above says 8/24/1999.

Could it be a BE6 rev 2.0 motherbaord? Or does it matter for upgrade purposes? Or am I off base completely? :cry:



-Urakh-
Toby B
Compaq-Fu Master
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 11:36 am
Location: Augusta, ME
Contact:

Abit BE6
Image

Specs.
======================
CPU

Supports Intel Pentium® III 450~600MHz
Supports Intel Pentium® II 233~450MHz
Supports Intel Celeron® 266~433MHz
Chipset

Intel®440BX AGPset (82443BX and 82371EB)
Supports Advanced Configuration and Power Management Interface (ACPI)
Supports AGP 1X/2X (Sideband)3.3V device
Memory

Three 168-pin DIMM sockets support SDRAM module
Supports up to 768MB MAX. (8, 16, 32, 64, 128,256MB SDRAM)
Supports ECC
System BIOS

CPU SOFT MENUTM II eliminates the need for jumpers or DIP switches needed to set CPU parameters
Award Plug and Play BIOS supports APM, DMI and ACPI
Write-Protect Anti-Virus function by AWARD BIOS
Year 2000 Compliant
Functions

Two channels of bus Master IDE Ports supporting up to four Ultra DMA 33/66 devices
Two channels of bus Master IDE Ports supporting up to four Ultra DMA 33 devices
PS/2 Keyboard and PS/2 Mouse connectors
One Floppy Port (up to 2.88MB)
One Parallet Port (EPP/ECP)
Two Serial Ports
Two USB Connectors
Built-in IrDA TX/RX header
Miscellaneous

ATX form factor
One AGP slot, Five PCI slots and Two ISA slots
Hardware monitoring - Includes fan speed, voltages, CPU and system environment temperature,and one thermal header for other temperature monitoting
Keyboard and Mouse Wake Up
Built-in Wake on LAN header
One thermal sensor cable Included
Dimensions : 305*210mm
==============================================
There should be a revision number on the board (should look like these examples; Vx.x, Ver. x.x, or Rev. x.x {x = unknown #})

Toby
Compaq-Fu Master
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

UC is used by motherboard manufacturers to identify their models but Abit uses the last two digits to ID the biosrelease installed on this board .
And only the BE6 uses MU as Bios release ID for 440BX based boards .

Note - UC will not be changed in the Bios-ID but the last two digits are different depending on Bios version installed .
Urakh
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 3:07 am

Ahh, didn't know that about the MU part of the BIOS ID.

If you visit the ABIT part of wimsbios you'll see why I was skeptical at all.

http://www.wimsbios.com/HTML1/abit.html

2A69KA1UC is all that is listed on the board versions. All the BE6 versions seem to be listed but don't match up to this string. No MUs at all on the listing either :?:. Does ABIt or AMI have thier ABIT BIOSes listed?

In referance to the nice graphic above, I might have to open up my case after all :D . I believe my MB is green with all PCI slots but I might have to eat those words! :oops:


-Urakh-
Urakh
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 3:07 am

I realised too late that the link I posted to wimsbios.com's abit BIOS numbers didn't go there, but to the main page :oops: so to be nice I thought I'd post the numbers from the site for comparison to my out-of-date BIOS.

2A69KA1UC-MU is what i have

Wimsbios says;

2A69KU1AC is Abit BE6

6A69KA19C is Abit BE6 v2

6A69KA1A is also Abit BE6 v2

6A69KA1B is also Abit BE6 v2

what confuses me is two things. One they don't match up to what I have, and for the BE6 boards there isn't a -xx or a -MU. I can't find an -MU at all on the page for any board but there is definitely a few -xx. :(

Also, the last two letters after the KA do change from board to board. At least you can see the source of my confusion. :?



-urakh-
Toby B
Compaq-Fu Master
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 11:36 am
Location: Augusta, ME
Contact:

Abit BH6
Image

BIOS string should read: 2A69KA1VC NOT UC

====================================
Specs:

Pentium®III Processor Based Mainboard
CPU Slot 1
CONVERAGE PCI Y
CHIP SET Intel 440BX
MEMORY SLOT SDRAM
SOFTMENU 2

CPU
Supports PentiumIII/Celeron 450~700 MHz processor cartridge.
Chipset
Intel 440BX chipset (82443BX and 82371EB)
Memory
Three 168-pin DIMM sockets support up to 768MB SDRAM module
Cache Memory
1.Level 1 and Level 2 cache built into Intel PentiumRII processor cartridge
BIOS
CPU SoftMenu™ II eliminates the need for jumpers or DIP switches to set CPU parameters
Multi I/O
Two channels of bus master IDE ports connectors for up to four IDE devices (Including LS-120MB floppy drive )
Miscellaneous
One AGP slot, Five PCI slots and Two ISA slots



Toby
Compaq-Fu Master
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

@Tobi B. :
What are you doing ????????????
Try to download the BE6-MU Bios and compare the Bios-ID !!!
It's the same ID Urakh postet ! > definetely UC not VC

With an Abit Board and known motherboard chipset and Bios identifier (MU here) it's easy to find the motherboard as the identifier is only used once in a chipset group - here 440BX .
Urakh
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 3:07 am

"BIOS string should read: 2A69KA1VC NOT UC "

When cut and pasted from Award's BIOS Agent my BIOS tpye is:

08/24/1999-i440BX-W83977-2A69KA1UC-MU

Is it an program error making it read VC?

I also get a message during bootup saying the Highpoint controller's UDMA 66 BIOS not installed. Er, should have said that before shouldn't I? :oops:

-Urakh-
Toby B
Compaq-Fu Master
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 11:36 am
Location: Augusta, ME
Contact:

BE6-II v2.0 - 12/03/2001-I440BX-W977-6A69KA1CC-xx 440BX HPT370
BE6-II v1.2 - 12/03/2001-I440BX-W977-6A69KA1BC-xx 440BX HPT370
BE6-II v1.1 - 12/03/2001-I440BX-W977-6A69KA19C-xx 440BX HPT366
BF6
BE6 440BX 3DIMM 1AGP 5PCI 2ISA
BH6 v1.1x - 06/20/2000-i440BX-W83977-2A69KA1VC-xx 440BX AGP 5PCI 2ISA 3DIMM CuMine


-xx stands for BIOS release number
Yes I have seen V's that resemble U's

The one and only way to solve this issue is the case is gonna have to be opened to find out exactly what motherboard you have.

Toby
Compaq-Fu Master
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Copy/paste as in select text, Ctrl-C Ctrl-V. Not much U going to V or vice versa there....
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

There's no BH6 with MU as bios identifier and a BH6 has no Highpoint UDMA66 controller !
Urakh
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 3:07 am

Yeppers, the BIOS ID was Ctrl+C Ctrl+V'd into my previous post so there should be no mistaking a V for a U, but it looks like I'm cracking open my case tomorrow..

:evil: *grumbles* *dang heavy steel Supermicro case, gotta lift it vertical to get it out from behind my desk* *grumble* :evil:

:lol:

I'll post as soon as I get the ID off the MB.

-Urakh-
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Sorry Urakh, Abit has got us all confused with their different bios strings for the same board...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply