BIOS chip for QDI Advance 5/133E

How-to identify your motherboard ?
Post Reply
Papcina
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:04 pm

Sun May 20, 2007 1:11 am

hi guys
i need help
can sum1 tell me what is the chip type which is located on QDI Advance 5/133E motherboard? I got that mbo without bios chip so i would liek to get it..

thx

bb
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Sun May 20, 2007 10:17 am

As of this picture..
http://www.motherboards.org/imageview.h ... s/4745.jpg

and the bios update (size)
http://www.qdigrp.com/qdisite/driver/A5e_v12slc.ZIP

i think it might be this chip:
http://www.sst.com/downloads/datasheet/S71062.pdf

but you could also use any other 2Mbit parallel flash eeprom of the 29xxxx series.
Papcina
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:04 pm

Sun May 20, 2007 11:34 am

ok thx
i think its working.. I used an bios chip from PMC Flash, named Pm29F002T-12PC, its working fine although i get Unknown flash type error before OS boots... is that fine or will i get any errors during work? Cos i tried booting with Win98 boot disk and the tools on floppy were loaded and working fine...

thx once more

bb
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Sun May 20, 2007 2:08 pm

No problem. They hardcoded the flash eeprom IDs (used during production) into the bios and check them on every start..i don't know why but there must be a reason ;)
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Sun May 20, 2007 5:09 pm

Better use Winbond or SST flash devices as they are usually supported by most manufacturers.
AFAIK the A5-133 series came with Winbond or SST Flashroms. The flashrom support has to be within Bios because some hardware configuration data needs to be written onto the chip, especially ESCD/PnP data as well as some ACPI data.
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Mon May 21, 2007 7:48 am

ACPI/ESCD/PnP data is not stored onto the BIOS chip by the BIOS. It's written into (nv-)CMOS just like the other BIOS settings. CMOS memory is either integrated into the southbridge or the multiIO and powered by the mainboard battery.
you could even store the BIOS in eproms (the windowed ones) and it wouldn't make a difference besides that you wouldn't be able to flash the chip.. so again: if did not encounter any problems yet just ignore the message.
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Tue May 22, 2007 10:05 pm

cp wrote:ACPI/ESCD/PnP data is not stored onto the BIOS chip by the BIOS. It's written into (nv-)CMOS just like the other BIOS settings. CMOS memory is either integrated into the southbridge or the multiIO and powered by the mainboard battery.
Denniss is correct. Sometimes it is stored in the BIOS chip.

For example:

Code: Select all

              ******** W6570NMS.200 BIOS component ********

 No. Item-Name         Original-Size   Compressed-Size Original-File-Name
=========================================================================
  0. System BIOS       20000h(128.00K) 1356Fh(77.36K)  6A61BM49.BIN
  1. XGROUP CODE       0BBF0h(46.98K)  08175h(32.36K)  awardext.rom
  2. ACPI table        04857h(18.08K)  01B0Bh(6.76K)   ACPITBL.BIN
  3. YGROUP ROM        06440h(25.06K)  03DA5h(15.41K)  awardeyt.rom
  4. Other(4029:0000)  040E0h(16.22K)  01E73h(7.61K)   _EN_CODE.BIN
  5. Other(402A:0000)  08800h(34.00K)  00207h(0.51K)   BGROUP.BIN
  6. VGA ROM[1]        0DC00h(55.00K)  08F7Eh(35.87K)  CR17NZ.ROM
  7. LOGO BitMap       4B30Ch(300.76K) 01D66h(7.35K)   LOGO.BMP
  8. PCI driver[A]     10000h(64.00K)  07593h(29.39K)  NV2PXE.NIC
  9. PCI driver[B]     10000h(64.00K)  077A9h(29.92K)  376.NIC
 10. EPA pattern       017ACh(5.92K)   001C9h(0.45K)   Live2-1.BMP

  Total compress code space  = 5E000h(376.00K)
  Total compressed code size = 3CBF7h(242.99K)
  Remain compress code space = 21409h(133.01K)
Note item 2 ACPITBL.BIN
This is one reason why a BIOS saved from a machine may not checksum the same as when it was flashed into the machine.
See also:
http://www.freepatentsonline.com/6073206.html
ftp://download.intel.com/design/flcomp/ ... 216101.pdf
Tested patched BIOSes. Untested patched BIOSes.
Emails *will* be ignored unless the subject line starts "Wim's BIOS forum"
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Wed May 23, 2007 8:47 pm

i never said that the ACPI _tables_ are not in the bios. but they remain unchanged and user settings will be saved into the CMOS memory (on almost all systems..intel flash chips _MAY_ use another technique). All PnP/ESCD code is in the BIOS, too. but still the settings/information obtained by that code executed are stored in the CMOS memory and not in the BIOS.
So if you'd burn your bios into EPROMs (erasable only with aggressive UV light) you'd be still able to have a ACPI/PnP/ESCD enabled bios.

Intel on the other hand implemented sector flashable chips that can update parts of their contents only..the SST29EE020 doesn't support sectored flashing btw.
Post Reply