Need help to identify!

How-to identify your motherboard ?
Elbocadillo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 12:02 pm

Hi,

I just need some help to identify the manufacturer of my Bios.
I´ve got an IBM Aptiva and the Bios ID is: IBM7000-M15-980818-R03-X
Where do I get an updated Bios-File for this one?

Please help me. :(
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Check the sticker on your BIOS for something like V66xx (or similar). If that were the case, your board is an ACER board.
Elbocadillo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 12:02 pm

on the HP of Acer there´s no longer any kind of support for IBM Aptiva PC´s and I really need to know where I can get this update.
But I also don´t know which Aptiva model I´ve got. In the bios there is the information that it could be a 2151-87N but this model doesn´t exist.
So what can i do to find this out?
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

ACER will never mention support for IBM PCs.
Have you checked the BIOS chip for a sticker?
Elbocadillo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 12:02 pm

Yes there is a sticker and it is made by Acer
There are also these information

V70MA
Bios
U44
V.3.2.R03-SO
Acer Inc.

Where can i get an update?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

oh lord. Aptiva xxxx-xx ID number should be read from the back of the case. No wonder...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-Fu Master
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon May 13, 2002 11:20 pm
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

ftp://ftp.acer.de/pc/v70ma/

Acer v70MA

The link above keeps bouncing back (firewall denying access) but it should work externally...
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Make sure you make a backup of your BIOS before flashing. I've heard of some IBM boards (made by ACER) which would hang when flashed with the ACER BIOS. Dunno why...
Elbocadillo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 12:02 pm

Thanks to all, i will try to update with these information.

P.S. There is no sticker with a model type on my Aptiva because its second hand and the owner before took the sticker away.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

HWJ, update your links, they have relocated the stuff, no firewall problem this time:

ftp://ftp.support.acer-euro.com/desktop ... ard/V70MA/
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-Fu Master
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon May 13, 2002 11:20 pm
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

I got the link through Google and I could not verify if it works or not. FTP directory retrival throughs IE into and endless accessing loop. Kind of bizarre. The one you posted above does the same thing.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

time for a decent FTP client then? Or find out where the FTP proxy is at?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-Fu Master
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon May 13, 2002 11:20 pm
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Depending on what station I am at I can use DOS FTP, but not all of them have it. I think Compaq has specifically setup the proxy to deny FTP requests through IE. But they did a crappy job of it or something.

Ah well its compaq, what are you going to do... 8)
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier
Elbocadillo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 12:02 pm

Thank you very much, the update was successful but it didn´t solve my problem, because this update is also too old. Is there a possibility to get one from this century. I want to upgrade my PC with an PCI Graphic-Card but i can´t disable the onboard.
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Keep the onboard card there - either it will be disabled automatically or it will work together with the new card.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Post Reply